Compatible Support Forums
Sign in to follow this  
NormaCG

Xp Too Slow

I bought a new IBM computer with Windows XP installed. I find it very slow starting up and very slow at launching programs. I spoke to IBM and they gave me a file to update the BIOS which I did. It has made some improvement but still not like it should be. Any help??? PLEASE...I am not a patient person laugh

About how long does it take to start up?

XP and for that matter W2K do have issues with some hard disks in starting programs after a period of time Look at http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;EN-US;q310419. Since yours is new system, several things suggest themselves - not enough Ram, hard disk is not configured with DMA support, video card or drivers are not optimized. As others have indicated, give your system specs as a first step to diagnosing the more common bottlenecks.

edit by clutch

Fixed link.

/edit

Thanks for all the replies...Ok...I will try this...I am no expert by any stretch of the immagination. The computer is a Netvista - 60g hard drive..128mgs of ram..Intel Celeron processor..not sure what else you need to know.

How about how long it takes to start up? smile

You should atleast get more ram. 256MB minimum on XP IMO.

And you can try to turn of Luna (use Classic) to get the desktop-use a little faster. Turning of System Restore can also help.

Clearly, you need more memory to run XP, and as Galilee points out 256 is minimum. What is the speed of the processor? Are you sure it is a Celeron?