Compatible Support Forums
Sign in to follow this  
Wetling

Newbie needs some help

Hi there, I am new to this kind of stuff. I went from Win 3.1 to 95 on a different computer. Then I went from 95 to 98 on the same computer, but there were few peripherals, applications, and files I need to worry about. Now however I have lots of stuff I don't want to lose when I upgrade to Windows 2000. So I am asking for some help.

I am planning to put all the install files for the programs I have downloaded on the CD-R as well as my image, mp3 and word files. Is that all I should backup? I have a beta version of Windows 2000 but it is the last build (2195). Will that make a difference? If I was to install the OS, does it have a good way to uninstall to got back to 98 if it is not what I wanted? Will I have to format my HDD to switch to NTFS? What about dual booting. Is it worth it? I have a 10GB HDD that is currently my default. I also have a 6GB secondary drive. I have never dual booted anything so I would appriciate step by step insturctions. Actually, any step by step instuctions you can give for anything would be GREATLY appriciated.

Sorry about the length. Thanks guys.

EDIT: I thought of another question. Will my bookmarks in IE transfer over?

[This message has been edited by Wetling (edited 15 September 2000).]

If you went from Win95 to Win98 on the same computer that you intend to take to W2K, the first thing you should do is to go into your Device Manager to make a COMPLETE list of all of the systems devices, then go to the hardware compatibility list at

http://www.microsoft.com/hcl/default.asp

to see what's going to work and what's not going to work. Download the proper W2K-specific device drivers for all of these items, and back them up to CD-R, too. (Be sure you close the CD-R after you've finished your backups to it. When that machine first comes up in W2K, it's probably not going to want to try to read a CD that's been left open.)