Compatible Support Forums
Sign in to follow this  
romanticnick4eva

Dwl-520 D-link wireless card need help?

Hi anyone can help me im very new to linux i installed fedora 4 and i dont know how to add drivers in to linux so it reconizes my dwl-520 rev -b card i read alot of things about it but it dont make since to me so if you can help how to edit the config file please let me know thanks

romanticnick4eva@hotmail.com

If this is the DWL-520 revision b card, then Fedora may already see it as a prism chipset.

Did you try using the Network Administration Tool?

Go to the Main Menu Button (on the Panel) => System Settings => Network.

...and see if it is listed.

If not, do you have the ndiswrapper package installed on your system?

Originally posted by romanticnick4eva:

Quote:
no it aint i dont know how to edit it so it will work

OK, no it aint what? You need to be more specifc. The card is not listed, or you don't have ndiswrapper installed on the system?

I will assume that you did not (or were not able to) configure the card during the installation. Many people miss this.

Go back to the network tool and click on the "add" button. Choose wireless. Do you get just "other" or does it show your card with some options to install it?

If you card model shows, what options do you get? If it offers to install the card without the ndiswrapper option, go ahead and try it.

You may only get one option of installing using ndiswrapper. If this is the case, than things will be a little more complcated. You will need your native Windows XP drivers from the wireless card installation cd to install and configure ndiswrapper.

It would also be helpful if you give some more information. Is your network set up with WEP or WPA?

But let's go one step at a time.