Compatible Support Forums
Sign in to follow this  
N0N1337H41

New to Linux w/questions

Hello everyone, I'm new to Linux. I'm new to command line based anything. What I'm trying to do is set up a box with Fedora and a wireless network. If this were a Windows enviroment I would be set, but I know nothing about Linux. I bought a Fedora book, and while it has lots of information it doesn't help me with being a first time user. I've been searching for days for a helpful forum, and I'm hoping this will be my last stop.

My biggest concerns right now are that I installed FC1 and ran up2date, but I'm not sure if that actually updated me to FC3. I don't mind staying on FC1 if I can run the wireless network on it. I don't have any hardware right now, and I'm trying to stay under $100 for the NIC and router. I prefer Linksys, but will use anything that's good quality.

I understand that these are newb questions, so I appreciate any tips for Linux virgins you might be able to provide. Thank you in advance.

Under $100.00? This combo will work under FC1 with little if any difficulty.

http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproductdes...N82E16833124105

http://store.yahoo.com/justdeals/nema80wipcin.html

You'll have to pay more for 802.11G. Stay away from anything wireless that has a USB interface...

EDIT: Hold off on the WAP11. WEP enctyption can be screwy under Linux and you'll need that...

Thanks for the help Dan. I will order these soon. In the meantime, if wanted to upgrade to FC3 would simply running up2date update me all the way to FC3, or do I have to go DL & burn the .iso files and reformat everything?

And a third question: If I do upgrade to FC3, will the router/card you reccomended still work?

I'm glad to have found a nice forum to post on. Some forums have been outright rude to me for being such a newb.

Thanks Again!

Originally posted by n0n1337h41:

Quote: