Compatible Support Forums
Sign in to follow this  
Justbill

I'm New Here, if Fedora 3 is a more capable OS than XP why........

cant' I use it?

I am new to computers, I have an old HP 233, with a 60 gig hard drive, 192 mb of ram, and yes, I know I could use a new machine, but this has been inexpensive to learn on! I had 98SE on this machine originally, but it kept crashing. So I got frustrated, and got Fedora 3. It looked nice at first, no trouble installing, and a real nice web experience. However when it comes to the everyday little things , like trying to print, well, I have not been able to get my printer to work at all, not even a test page. This more "capable" system is only more capable, if you can actually use it!

Now I would just like to get it off my machine! But, I can't. I have a copy of Vector, that a friend gave me, but it won't install because Fedora is there. I realize I am new to computers and to Linux, but there has to be something I can do with this. Can anyone tell me in simple terms either how to get my printer working, or how to get Fedora out of my machine and life? I have already had (and am considering) the suggestions that involve tall buildings, or the rear tandems of large trucks ( the trucks idea is looking good). the version of Vector that I can't seem to get installed is SOHO 5.0. If anyone can help, it would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

William (Justbill) Sanders

williamsanders@charter.net

Is that a PII 233, or a Pentium Classic (such as a P200 or P166)? Also, while 98SE crashing isn't much of a surprise in general it could be an indicator of failing hardware which might be complicating your experience with Fedora. You could try something like Mepis, Knoppix, or any other distro and simply delete all of the partitions and start over if you would like.

As for the printing, have you checked to make sure that your printer is supported using the printing application (probably CUPS) in FC3?