Compatible Support Forums
Sign in to follow this  
Rac

help!!!

im new in linux and i downloaded redhat 9 but i don't know how to install it and what to do first..

all right so you got the isos heres what your going to need to do is burn them

its not going to be a data burn your going to need to burn image to disk/burn iso

so heres good programs

roxio any version (for roxio file burn image to disk, i beleive,)

nero

deepburner note can get for free as beta and thatll do the trick

burn at no faster the 12X stick to prefably 4/8x

once burned pop the cds into tray and youll have the anaconda installer choose manual partitioning and choose the options that sounds like it wont kick off your windows partition then choose your packages and install then reboot i could go more into depth but one question at a time

some things to solve and note any problems before they occur

hardware redhat 9.0 uses an older kernel and may not support your hardware if its newer

so things like mobo

processor

network card

modem

video card

and if this is a store bought prebuilt pc list the make and model and we can grab the parts list

i already burn them but i don't see any installer, and the autorun does't work

Few questions to answer a question

1: all right how did you burn them, and what speed

2: check bios usually press f1, esc, del to get into bios and change the boot order cd should be first in the list

i really cant give much advice unless i know the following things speed is a big thing as well did you burn the cd image?

Pop the cd you burned into the primary cd/dvd drive and see if it boots up. If not you will need to change the boot order in the bios as Soul has suggested. If this also fails you will need to burn the iso as a bootable image. Let us know the application you are using to burn the cd and we can try to help you get it right. More info = more better help. smile

...amd make sure that you burned the image, not the file itself as a data file.