Compatible Support Forums
Sign in to follow this  
zenarcher

Removing Swap Partition with Mandrake 10

I am running Mandrake 10.0. I currently have 512M or RAM and am increasing RAM to 1 Gig. I notice that the swap is not really used and have read posts indicating that everything would probably run faster, if the Swap was removed. I did see some posts talking about removing Swap, but I'm really a newbie and not sure of the exact steps to do so. Could someone help?

Thanks,

zenarcher

I figured this one out on my own. A bit scary, being new...but I removed the swap, rebooted and all is working....and a bit faster, I think.

zenarcher

Did you also remove or comment out the swap reference in /etc/fstab? This may not be necessary, but will help to keep errors from occuring during boot..although you may not care!

No, I did not remove that comment and I'm not quite sure how to do so. Could you please detail the procedure for me? I'm completely new to Linux, so trying to learn this as I go. Also, I see when I look at the partitions, since removing the swap, there is a small area, where the swap was located, now apparently not allocated to anything. Is there some simple way to rectify this? I have rebooted and not seen any errors, but would like to remove the comment you mentioned.

Thanks,

zenarcher

What partition tool are you using (did you use) to remove the swap file?

If you have PartitionMagic, you can resize the free space, where swap once was, to take up the empty space.

You can also use the Mandrake install cd to navigate to the partitioning tool, then resize the space under the expert mode. Then back out of the installer.

Qtparted is a partitioning utility for Linux, but I have had some unexpected results with it and do not recommend it.

In terms of commenting-out the entry in /etc/fstab, this is how I do it (other opinions will vary).

1. Go to a console

2. type in su (hit the enter key)

3. type in the root password (hit the enter key)