Compatible Support Forums
Sign in to follow this  
choleskyf

dual boot - Win XP and Red Hat 9

Hi,

Sorry about the subject line which must have appeared several times, but I'm new to Linux and wanted to confirm before proceeding with installation. Is it ok to have a dual boot system having the structure:

100 MB ---- /boot

15GB ---- Win XP

20GB ---- FAT32(accessible to Win & Linux)

1GB ---- Linux Swap (my RAM is 512MB)

10 GB ---- /home

Then, install grub in the first sector of /boot. I have mostly seen people recommending having Win as the first partition.

Thanks

I would definately put XP first. You also are not showing a "/" partition. Here would be my suggestion:

15 GB ---- Win XP

10 GB ---- FAT32(accessible to Win & Linux)

100 MB ---- /boot

10 GB ---- /

1GB ---- Linux Swap

10 GB ---- /home

Do you really need your fat32 partition that large? Depending of course, I would think 5 GB would be a gracious plenty. Then you can divide the other 5 GB between / and /home...

15 GB ---- Win XP

5 GB ---- FAT32(accessible to Win & Linux)

100 MB ---- /boot

12.5 GB ---- /

1GB ---- Linux Swap

12.5 GB ---- /home

Unless you are using apps that need massive amounts of memory, you really don't even need the swap partition. I also have 512 MB, and my machine is noticably faster without a swap.

Just my two cents worth: Go with Fedora Core 1. with the updates, it's a big improvement over "9."

Thanks! Guess I'll move Win XP to the beginning. But since my Win partition is 15GB, the /boot will be beyond the 1024 cyl limit. Will that affect the grub management? Once I set everything up to run smoothly, I plan to have Win boot loader manage the start up.

Another thing I was not clear about - Is it better to have the grub in the MBR or in the first sector of /boot?? I have come across posts that say both are ok. Any pros and cons to either?

==================

Originally posted by Dapper Dan:

Quote: