Compatible Support Forums
Sign in to follow this  
Niels82

access denied to partition

Hey

I wanted to try and run winxp on fat32 so i can access it from linux.. im fairly new to this and heard it was not an excellent idea but wanted to give it a shot anyhow.

My hd is 160 gb so I actually got 3 partitions. #1 linux #2 windows #2 other stuff (fat32 also)

I can access #2 and #3 from winxp, and #1 and #2 from linux..

When, in linux, trying to enter #2 i get "access denied" as a normal user. As SU, super user/root, I get in ..

Since I wanna play the music I got there for example, I wanna use my music player to get these files of course. I can get in, however the folders appear as files, and I can not execute any files inside my players..

How can i set access to this partition for other users than root? And whats wrong with the folders and such inside the applications ? From my konsole the folders and files are organized as I set them up in windows, so its only wrong in "browse for file" inside some player ..

If i gotte reformat it thats not a problem, I dont really have much and its fast to redownload stuff so ..

To access the drive as a normal user you will need to edit the file /etc/fstab. Save a backup first!

For your drive there should be a line that looks something like this:

/dev/hdax /mnt/hdax reiserfs noauto 0 1

change it to this:

/dev/hdaz /mnt/hdax reiserfs noauto,users 0 1

That should give you access as user.

I'm not sure about the music, but my guess would be that is they don't play they might be in WMA which is a microsoft proprietary format which is not supported in Linux.

Also Windows does not recognize Linux partions.

The solution would be, of course, to store all the music files on one of the fat32 partition, then they can be accessed in Windows or Linux.