Compatible Support Forums
Sign in to follow this  
Reginald0

Problem with Red Hat 6.2 and two ethernet cards

Hi, folks!

I'm a network administrator typing from Brazil and I'm facing a crazy problem with Red Hat 6.2.

I installed two ethernet cards (already tried a lot of models of 3Com (905b, 905c, 980) and also Realtek (8129, 8139)) on a PIII-1.13GHz, and the situation is the following:

- The cards doesn't work if both are enable, but if I disabled (ifdown) one, the other begins to respond to ping;

- Ifconfig detects both (eth0 and eth1) at irq10 and irq11, respectively;

- I tried to swap the cards to different slot positions to avoid conflicts, but fails;

- There's no conflict between the cards, cause I tried to install other versions of Red Hat (7.2, 7.3) and the machine works well;

- I tried to compile the driver sources into the kernel instead of modules, but anyway without success;

- I also tried to upgrade the original kernel (2.2.14-5.0) to the newer version (2.4.20). Guess what? Same problem;

- At last, I tried to do all these things in a complete differente machine expecting hardware incompatibilities... Same situation;

Has anybody experienced similar problems using two ethernet cards with Red Hat 6.2? Am I doing something stupid? Is there some secret in this version that I don't know?

I would like to justify that I need too much that this thing works because I have an outdated commercial software that runs well just on Red Hat 6.2.

Please, somebody help me! I would be greatly thankful.

Happy new year!

PS: Sorry about my poor english :-)

Reginaldo O. Andrade

reginaldo@totalalimentos.com.br

Please don't dup the same the thread into multiple forums. I will remove the other two.

Hi, folks!

I finally discovered the cause of my problem (after a few days trying), and I would like to say that it has nothing to do with I could imagine to be:

I just disabled the option "Plug And Play OS Aware" at BIOS setup and everything works fine!