Compatible Support Forums
Sign in to follow this  
Jody

Trouble installing Mandrake w/ Windows XP

Ok, I am completely new to Linux. I thought I'd give it a try. I downloaded the ISO files for Mandrake and burnt them to discs. When I try to reboot my machine w/ the discs in I get nothing. It autimatically goes straight to my Windows log on screen. Am I doing something wrong? I am currently running Windows XP Home Edition. Is this the problem? Please help. I really wanna try Linux and get away from M$. Thanks.

Jody did you burn the disks as an " iso image " ? if so then check your BIOS to see if your CD is set to boot on start up...

Yes, they were burnt as ISO's. Sorry, I am completely computer illiterate when it comes to technical things. How do I check my bios to see if the cd is set to boot? Am I too stupid for Linux? lol thanks.

Checking your BIOS, depending on your machine, some you would hit the delete key on start up, I have a Sony and it is my F2 key... Look in your computer manual, it should give you the instructions... All you want to do is to set your CD to be able to boot ... It is usually a sequence such as CD, your hard drive, floppy...

Quote:
Yes, they were burnt as ISO's. Sorry, I am completely computer illiterate when it comes to technical things. How do I check my bios to see if the cd is set to boot? Am I too stupid for Linux? lol thanks.

When your machine boots up, the first screen you see will have a line, usually at the bottom that says something like: "press del to enter setup" (the del may be replaced by f1, f2, or whatever. Press the key indicated, and then find in the bios program where the boot sequence is. The location will vary from bios to bios, so I can't help you find it. Another poster describes it well enogh that you can recognise it. I hope this helps. 8)