Compatible Support Forums
Sign in to follow this  
shassouneh

Linux and win2k network peace?

Ok, before I proceed, please understand that just like many of you feel, I am quite VEEEERY happy with windows 2000, and its is definately my first choice for an OS, no questions asked.

Now, I was hoping to find a linux guru in this crowd, so please bear with me if you hate linux (just like i do).

Ok, this pertains to Linux and Windows 2000 communicating over a simple hub-based Microsoft Windows network. I am no expert at this, but I know linux Mandrake 7.1 (the distro I'm running) comes with SAMBA which can be used to connect to a SMB (windows) network. However, After using this command, I could not get SAMBA to communicate succesfully to any of the 2 other windows 2000 machines that are on the network. Does anyone know how this can be done in such a way that i can share files between windows 2000 and linux, or AT LEAST from windows 2000 to linux? Please note that my current windows configuration for the network is as follows:

installed protocols / services:

TCP/IP (protocol)

NETBEUI (protocol)

Client for Microsoft Networks (client)

File and Print sharing for Microsoft networks (service).

As you can probably tell this is a simple home network running on a hub, and nothing really funky.

Also note, that EACH of the windows 2000 machines are/were logged on with full administrator privelages.

when i used samba to tyry to connect to any windows 2000 machine it returned an error like "connection failed to \\computername\resource" or something similar!

Someone please help! Again, bear in mind that I am a beginner with linux, so please use "gentle" terminology and desciptions. thanx!

Don't blame me, blame whoever wrote it: (NOT me)