Compatible Support Forums
Sign in to follow this  
obokos

Kinetiz 7E QDI mainboard - compatibility

Hi

I have a spare PC which I am in the process of installing linux on. I have a choice of SuSE 6.3 (full 6 cd set) or Debian (burned 2 cd set off the web - latest version). My PC is standard except for a Kinetiz 7E mainboard (QDI)

I notice on the box of my of SuSE linux (christmas present from a pal who couldn't be bothered) that it does not acknowledge support of the QDI mainboard. Is it actually possible to use SuSE with this mainboard? Is this version of SuSE now outdated or is it still worth the effort? - I ask this because I am a novice to linux and it comes with a reassuring looking manual which I feel might be a good thing.

Alternatively, Is it OK to use Debian with this mainboard?

Or - option 3 - should I buy a new mainboard.

I don't expect to be using the PC for anything serious just yet, I just want experience with the UNIX style environment. Obviously, I am hoping this will change with experience.

Any advice would be appreciated

Thanks for reading...

Cheers

Never saw this board before, but I use VIA based boards without any problem.

How about giving us an idea about some of the system specs...processor type and speed, amount of RAM, hard drive size, modem make and model and what other hardware that you have on the system.

Debian is fine, if you have some knowledge of linux.

I would skip the SuSe version that you have and if possible, either download (if you have broadband) the newer version to install off the net...

Or you may want to try Mandrake 9.0, if you have enough ram, say ideally 128 mb or more.

Its not crucial to have 128, but the system will run better.

But, let's see what you have first.

Also, will you be using linux exclusively, or a dual boot with Win 98 or Win XP?

I checked out the board online:

Chipset

North bridge:VIA KT-133A

South bridge:VIA VT82C686B Bus Type 5 PCI + 1 AMR+ 1 AGP+ 1 ISA

CPU