Compatible Support Forums
Sign in to follow this  
MiShY

How do I do this ???????

Hey,

I have just installed Win2kPro for the first time and I just read a security article - as follows - and I was wondering if someone could please detail to me how to implement this on my system.

Like I said I am new to 2000 and infact all NT variants so if you can help please explain in total laymans terms so I can understand smile

The article is as follows ::::

"Rename Administrator

Unlike other Accounts, the Administrator ID cannot be locked out. This means that people can try as many times as they like to crack this ID. To make this more difficult, rename your administrative account to something else. Make it very easy to remember, like "RealAdmin" or something similar. Next, I would recommend making a dummy Administrator account that has NO rights to anything, and giving it a log in script that writes the client machine's host name and IP address to a file whenever someone is able to log in using it, and then kicks the user off. To add a login script to the dummy administrators account, go to Console1 and the properties of the dummy account. Change it in the "Login Scripts" entry.

A login script, in the most simple terms, is just a batch file that a user runs when they login. This can be as simple as connecting a few network drives to as complex as, well, let it suffice to say it can get really complex. If you want to make a login script that puts the IP address info of the person logging into your machine into a log file, you would use something like this. Let's name the file Login.CMD, and let's create it in notepad just like any other text file. Note that each new line below is prefaced with a bullet point, just so you can see where new lines begin in case the HTML formatting doesn't come out right):

rem Make it so the person logging in doesnt see the script run

@echo off