Compatible Support Forums
Sign in to follow this  
Moniker

Problem with AD

Greets-

I was wondering I'm having an issue with active directory and DNS. I have it working with third party DNS to the point of the DC announcing that it is the DC. The problem I seem to be running into now is when it begins to sync, a credentials dialog box appears and says [The operation failed because:Failed to modify the nessasary properties for the machine account MACHINE$] "Access is denied". It also asks to enter an account that has sufficent priviliges to create an additional DC. Well I am the admin and Ive tried all my other admin accounts. I cant seem to get it to show anything in the logs (and I ve created a test server to try this with logging everything I can think of). does anyone here have any suggestions, if I havent provided enough detail please just let me know and I'll provide what I can

------------------

This may not be helpful, and I am still learning this as well, but I had a ton of problems with AD/DDNS until I setup a secondary DDNS box on my test LAN. Now they update each just fine, and they don't generate a ton of errors in the event logs. I am in the process of reading a couple of books on AD, but at the moment this is all I can offer. Sorry.

------------------

Regards,

clutch

have you run into any issues with your admin account not being able to promote members to DC's or any problem at promoting machines at all? It just keeps complaining about the machine account and I've tried a number of things but to no avail. If you have had any issues along the way could you let me know, as they could point me where I need to go. I can also provide info on problems I've encountered and the solutions I've found so far. Thanks for your help in advance.

-Moniker