Compatible Support Forums
Sign in to follow this  
linuxnewbie-mandrake 101

Lan and WAN config problems

Hi I have Mandrake 10.0 official installed on my computer. The only way I have access to connecting to the internet is by using the motorola surfboard 4200 cable modem either by ethernet or usb. However when I try both approches I get the same result: nothing. During boot the code says eth0: failed which I believe is partly responsible for this problem. I am currently using realtek 8139 as my NIC.

I also have a DI-514 router to connect my other computers to the internet, this router also does not work. My main concern however is getting the computer with Mandrake installed online. The other computers are second priority.

If anyone could help with any ides or suggestions it would be greatly appreciated. Also I am new to the Linux scene so please be patient with me and take the tiome to explain the steps I must take. Thankyou in advance.

In order to get Mandrake to work, you need to be connected via the realtek card. The system should be like this;

DL-514 (main connection)-->Cable modem

Mandrake system via Realtek NIC-->DL-514

I assume your ISP uses dynamic assignment of IP?

Did you tell Mandrake, during the install, to use DHCP on start?

Then you can go into the Mandrake Control Center, which should be start-->System-->Configuration--> Configure-->Configure your Computer-->Network & Internet.

Once there, click on Manage Connections.You should see on the first dropdown menu eth0 Realtek|RTL-8139.

Is this the case, or does the internet work after connecting the system as mentioned above?

OK, and the realtek is connected to the router via a cat 5 cable, not directly to the USB modem?

I'll look at Mandrake later on. You can try to add another connection in the Control Center. I think that I remember to set it up as lan, but let me look at this more.

a pointer to the documentation your ISP provides for setting up the cable modem

would really help..