Compatible Support Forums
Sign in to follow this  
quest

Which is the best to have?

Can anyone recommend which version fo Linux is best to use as server as I'm attempting to move from Windows 2000 Server? Noting that I am no expert in command line, is there any version of Linux that works akin to Windows e.g setup of users, accounts, directory, security settings, Webmail, Mail, etc with a graphical interface?

Thanks!

both distributions don't have tools where I can easily setup email accounts, setup webmail, etc without it installing a thousand other packages I don't need e.g. games, etc which I don't control over despite selecting not to have them installed. Further more what's the easiest way to secure them and I mean really secure as i wish to run it as a live production server?

I would recommend gentoo. Although it is often considered to be beyond a newbie's capability, as a newbie myself, I think it actually the best newbie distro available. You can install exactly what you want to install; the documentation is as good as it gets and the community is the most helpful to newbies that I have ever seen. Also, there are very easy to follow tutorials to do exactly what you want to do in the gentoo forums. Check out www.gentoo.org I don't think you will be disappointed. smile

Thanks ekj. Does it have a graphical interface I can easily start using immediately? Or are there ones I can download to use? I heard it does not come an installer. Is this true?

Quote:
both distributions don't have tools where I can easily setup email accounts, setup webmail, etc without it installing a thousand other packages I don't need e.g. games, etc which I don't control over despite selecting not to have them installed. Further more what's the easiest way to secure them and I mean really secure as i wish to run it as a live production server?