Compatible Support Forums
Sign in to follow this  
dandaman

Basic Linux Help

Well I will start off by saying I am a complete noob to Linux. Well anyways I was trying to get Half Life running under Linux and therefore I used WineX well anyways they wanted the latest drivers, xfree86 and glibc (oh ya naturally the latest linux kernal...) well anyways I downloaded xfree86 off their site and in order for it to configure correctly using -configure I had to boot into Linux without xfree86 being loaded. So I found the system startup thingy (the linux equivilant of "msconfig") and I unchecked the box that had it start the "x" or the xfree86 system.

Well I rebooted Linux and I was left with a nice command prompt and I was able to configure xfree86 and install it and the whole works... but the thing is how do I load it now? Well I mean how do I load it from the command prompt so I can set it to load on the system startup?

Oh by the way while I am at it, how can I configure my ISA Soundblaster AWE64 soundcard? (I am sure that is easily found on the net, hehe but it will save time :))

Well thank you very much.

-DanDaMan

First off, what you did to stop X loading at system startup was change the systems default runlevel from 5 (I *think*) to 3. To change it back without X you have to open the file /etc/inittab in a text editor (I like to use the one in Midnight Commander, mcedit) and look for the line that reads:

Code:
id:3:initdefault:

and change it so it reads:

Code:
id:5:initdefault:

Then after a reboot the system should load X and your default display manager.

As for the second problem, I knew how to do it once but it was a long time ago and things (such as the requirement of isapnptools and all the fun that entailed) are most likely quite different now. Instead, I'll point you to the alsa-project page for their snd-sbawe driver which is probably the best place to start looking for how to set it up on modern distributions.

Thank you very much for the help smile