Compatible Support Forums
bettyfan1

wireless card netgear WG311v3 & SUSE 10.1 problems

I am somewhat new to Linux and really new to SUSE. I bought a Netgear wireless card WG311v3 and installed it in my father inlaws computer to allow him to access the internet from his office. Unfortunately, I have yet to get it working. I loaded the ndiswrapper from cd 1 of SUSE and then proceeded to load the driver from the internet. I followed step by step instructions from the Novell site and from any other site that had solutions. I have been working on this for a week now and have even consulted with my instructor. Still no luck.

Latest problem is when after I unzip the driver and type ndiswrapper -i /tmp/driver/WG311v3.INF it says it is installed and then I type ndiswrapper -l and it gives me the error fatal error inserting ndiswrapper /lib/modules/2.6.16.13-4-default/updates/ndiswrapper.ko:Invalid argument. Where do I go from here.

Be gentle I am a IT student and am a newbie with Linux

Take a look at the SuSE how-to located here. See if that helps.

What exact drivers did you download from the net and from where?

I loaded the drivers from the Netgear site. Since that did not work I loaded the ones from the cd that came with the card. It still did not work. I then upgraded my SUSE 10.1 to SUSE 10.2 and downloaded ndiswrapper again using YAST2 and then tried the same commands of ndiswrapper -i WG311v3.INF and it says it is an invalid driver. I am at roots ends on this thing. Any more suggestions that might work? My instructor found another driver for the wireless card that was a driver NET311 that was on a linux site claiming to be an updated driver. It didn't work either. I am about to go get another card. I also have another question...could it be the fact that I am running a 64 bit processor?

Are you running a 64 bit version of SuSE? If so, from what I have read, you need 64 bit drivers.

According to Netgear's site here, they do not plan on making 64 bit drivers.