Jump to content


Photo

Call of duty opengl problem


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 Natedude

Natedude

    newbie

  • Members
  • 32 posts

Posted 26 December 2006 - 10:19 AM

I cant run call of duty because of a opengl problem on windows 98SE. First it said that i need a compatiable video driver so i installed one. Then afterwards a message saying "Could not openGL. make sure that you have the latest drivers for your video card from the manufacture's website" but it didn't work. Pleaseeee help me. This is my present and really anxious to play it.

#2 peterh

peterh

    addict

  • Members
  • 690 posts

Posted 27 December 2006 - 08:55 PM

Which video card do you have? Where did you get the driver from?


#3 Natedude

Natedude

    newbie

  • Members
  • 32 posts

Posted 28 December 2006 - 02:14 AM

how do I find out that? I once installed a game and found out that on the cd it had something called "Indeo Video 5 Installer" So I installed that and then the message saying "Could not load opengl". Is that my display driver?

#4 peterh

peterh

    addict

  • Members
  • 690 posts

Posted 28 December 2006 - 02:38 PM

It sounds like a video codec to play certain types of AVI files.

Run DxDiag.exe and look on the Display tab to see what gfx card you have.

#5 Natedude

Natedude

    newbie

  • Members
  • 32 posts

Posted 29 December 2006 - 12:49 AM

I think that this is it. I opened dxdiag, clicked on display and at the top it said "Name: Intel®82810E Graphics controller.

#6 DosFreak

DosFreak

    Carpal Tunnel

  • Moderators
  • 3885 posts

Posted 29 December 2006 - 01:56 AM

Your SOL. You need a decent video card. (Nothing Intel is nowhere near decent for gaming)

http://www.intel.com...b/cs-010467.htm

#7 Natedude

Natedude

    newbie

  • Members
  • 32 posts

Posted 31 December 2006 - 01:50 AM

Which driver would you suggest? And can you pleas provide me a link to it.

#8 peterh

peterh

    addict

  • Members
  • 690 posts

Posted 31 December 2006 - 02:40 PM

Not a new driver, a new Graphics Card. The Intel 82810 card is basically too slow to run CoD, get a ATI or Nvidea card.


#9 Natedude

Natedude

    newbie

  • Members
  • 32 posts

Posted 01 January 2007 - 05:24 AM

Can you please provide link for me. Than you.

#10 peterh

peterh

    addict

  • Members
  • 690 posts

Posted 01 January 2007 - 05:26 PM

Try DABS at: http://www.dabs.com/...m...&PageMode=1

Choice of card depends whether you have AGP or PCI Express slots.
Any card from 100 or more will be be good for games.

Latest Intel drivers are here:
http://downloadfinde...-...&PrdMap=798

Compatibility issues:
http://www.intel.com...b/CS-010467.htm

#11 jmmijo

jmmijo

    veteran

  • Members
  • 1550 posts

Posted 01 January 2007 - 07:04 PM

I'm going to guess that Natedude's machine is the much older Socket 370/P3 motherboard without even an AGP slot as it uses the IGP 810 series chipset.

He may or may not have any free PCI slots as well due to most likely having a micro-ATX motherboard.

So I would recommend checking inside your machine first Nate and verify if you have a single PCI slot available or not.

If so then you will want to look for a PCI card, not an AGP or PCI Express as these will not work.
No matter where you go, there you are...

#12 Natedude

Natedude

    newbie

  • Members
  • 32 posts

Posted 02 January 2007 - 07:11 AM

O.K. First of all: Do graphics cards cost? Or are they free to download? Second of all: How would i check inside my machine? Would i need to take it in to a computer store? Lastly: What is a PCI slot?

#13 Natedude

Natedude

    newbie

  • Members
  • 32 posts

Posted 06 January 2007 - 01:53 AM

Would a "SiS 5598/6326" gfx card be acceptable?

#14 DosFreak

DosFreak

    Carpal Tunnel

  • Moderators
  • 3885 posts

Posted 06 January 2007 - 04:32 AM

Take your computer to a computer store.

No a SiS graphics card is not acceptable.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

IPB Skin By Virteq