Compatible Support Forums
Sign in to follow this  
sburtchin

How Do I Boot the GRUB Floppy As a RAMdisk?

I have been experimenting with the Emergency Boot CD (EBCD). Among other things, you can add raw images of bootable media to it and those images can be loaded as a RAMdisk and then booted. I would like to be able to do this with the GRUB floppy.

The creating and booting of the RAMdisk looks to me like Linux commands, but I am no Linux expert. I have made some progress: the RAMdisk is created and it loads GRUB, and GRUB appears to be fully functional (even loads menu.lst), but when trying to boot Windows 98 from the GRUB RAMdisk the HDD makes some clanking noises and then I get the following error:

While initializing device IOS:

Windows protection error. You need to restart your computer.

I have to hard boot after this.

The real floppy disk boots Windows 98 perfectly.

Here is the code used to create the RAMdisk:

Code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="CP866" ?><!--    Emergency Boot CD-ROM  (EBCD)Copyright © 2002-2003 Mikhail KupchikThis program is free software; you can redistribute it and/or modify it under the terms of the GNU General Public License version 2 as published by the Free Software Foundation.--><EBCDML>    <ISOLINUX_Alt Name="GRUB_Boot_Floppy" Category="1">	<Line>kernel /boot/memdisk.sys</Line>	<Line>append initrd=/boot/GRUB_Kpx.img floppy</Line>    </ISOLINUX_Alt>    <DeclareGZipable File="BOOT\GRUB_Kpx.img" /></EBCDML>

This code works perfectly for most other bootable floppy image files, but not the GRUB floppy.

I've run out of ideas. Please help!

It looks like your question is being addressed on the PC Guide forums, where you also posted this question. Since I never use this utility, I can't be of much help. Did you ask this question at the Forum for EBCD? The author of the utility would hopefully respond.