Compatible Support Forums
Sign in to follow this  
SideshowMel

FC5 / WinXP DualBoot 2HDs Grub won't load

I am very new to Linux, so I installed a clean FC5 onto a separate HD than my Windows XP drive. In FC5, the package manager says grub is installed, but I still have to switch the HDs in the BIOS to determine which OS to use, there is no Grub prompt of any kind. I may have missed a step, as I'm not really sure exactly how to prodeed. When I was first installing FC5, it said it could not read the partition data from either drive, which is why I installed it on the smaller drive. I'm guessing I need to run some software on my Windows drive to restructure the partitions or something, I'm not sure. If that is the case, what software?

Also, FC5 sees my XP drive and vice versa, but neither can read data from the other. This doesn't surprise me with Windows (which is partly why I'm migrating), but what do I need to do to set up FC5 to read my Windows data?

Intel D915GAV w/ P4 3G

IBM Deskstar IDE 40GB HD (Linux)

Seagate SATA 120GB HD (Windows)

Does anybody know what I should try next? Thanks

My comments will be brief, only because we have dioscussed this on multiple threads in the last few months.

Quote:
I am very new to Linux, so I installed a clean FC5 onto a separate HD than my Windows XP drive. In FC5, the package manager says grub is installed, but I still have to switch the HDs in the BIOS to determine which OS to use, there is no Grub prompt of any kind. I may have missed a step, as I'm not really sure exactly how to prodeed.

You installed Fedora using all the default settings, which placed Grub on the IDE drive, not your boot drive. Fedora assumes you want grub installed on the drive that you install it to, unless you tell it otherwise.

Quote:
I'm guessing I need to run some software on my Windows drive to restructure the partitions or something, I'm not sure. If that is the case, what software?