Compatible Support Forums
Sign in to follow this  
Yankee

Suse linux 10.1 and WPA2

Hello,

I'm new to Linux and need some help setting up a WLAN. I have a Fujitsu-Siemens Amilo M 1437G which uses the InellPRO/wireless 2200bg. All the drivers are installed and configured and the hardware is reconized by Linux. I have been able to set up a WLAN using WEP or WPA but the rest of the machines on the network (Windows XP) are using WPA2 and I would like to continue using it.

Is it possible to confugure this version of Linux to use WPA2 or should I switch to another version of Linux. If it is possible please point me to a page with instructions on how to do this.

Btw I'm running Suse linux 10.1 using the Gnome desktop.

Thank you for the help!

Chris

I have been reluctant to switch to WPA. Once you get the system up with WEP....My wife will kill me if I mess with her internet connection again!

I remember reading that WPA2 is supported. However, this was an article with SuSE running KDE and using the Knetwork Maanger. The option was there in the wireless section for either straight WPA or WPA2.

I assume that both the router and the specific NIC on your system support this natively (without any supplemental updates)?

Do the InellPRO/wireless 2200bg drivers support this?

Anyone out there done this?

Both the router and the laptop work with WPA2. Is KDE another desktop under Suse 10.1? If it is I don't mind reinstalling and switching desktops if that's what it takes. Having just installed last Sunday I have nothing to lose!

Chris

You do not have to reinstall to use KDE desktop. I use KDE with SUSE, as it is my favorite, however, I also use a lot of GNOME applications. So, I merely install GNOME and KDE, and select KDE as my default desktop. Linux is quite nice, as most all GNOME applications will run under KDE and KDE under GNOME. I would suggest installing KDE, if you have not done so already and switching to KDE as your default desktop.

Cheers,

zenarcher