Compatible Support Forums
Sign in to follow this  
jagan999

Unable to get my network card working on Suse Linux 10.1

Hi,

I am a newbie to Linux trying to move away from WinXP to Suse 10.1. Most of my system is working except for the most important part - my network. I use the ASUS P5PL2 motherboard with an integrated Realtek ethernet controller and this works fine on WinXP. After installing Suse linux 10.1, the system information in YaST indicates AsusTek Ethernet Controller under Network Devices but the system never seems to acknowledge the existence of eth0 interface. ifconfig -a only lists lo and sit0....no eth0. Any command/function I use through YaST or the command line keeps saying 'eth0 - unknown interface or eth0 - no such device'. I am at my wit's end. Please help.

Jagan

It sounds like you never configured the card during the installation. I assume that you are using Broadband and not DSL?

Go into Yast and configure the card. Follow the menu items and pick DHCP at start. Then see if the interface comes up. You may need to reboot for it to work right off.

I am using broadband. I did use YaST and picked DHCP. It never comes up after several boots.

Jagan

OK, so I looked up your board and found that it has a Realtek RTL8111B chipset for the LAN. It looks like from this SuSE support forum article that this chipset is not supported yet. You would have to compile a module from the realtek support site to get it to work. This is not an easy task for a newbie, but if you want to give it a go....

BTW, are you using the 64 bit version of SuSE or the 32 bit version?

[Edited by danleff on 2006-05-31 02:25:09]

Oops...That's bad news. I definitely am intimidated to try out anything manually if it's not natively supported yet. I am using the 32 bit version. Thanks for the quick reply.

Jagan