Compatible Support Forums
Sign in to follow this  
voyageur

how to install fedora core 4 alongwith mandrake 10 and winxp

Hi, I am new to linux. And I need some help.I want to install two flavors of linux on my single hard drive.

I have one sata hard drive of 80 gb.

I had winxp already running. Then I installed Mandrake 10 (with Grub)on a 8 gb partition.It is working fine.

Now I want to install fedora core 4 on another partition on the same hard drive. I have 8 gb of unpartitioned free space kept reserve for this.

But The problem is that when I do install fedora, the new boot loader does not detect my previous linux installation (that is mandrake). And I don't know how to add it manually to the new grub menu .

Can anyone please guide me through this? And please be a little delibrate as I using linux for the first time. Thank you.

Quote:
I had winxp already running. Then I installed Mandrake 10 (with Grub)on a 8 gb partition.It is working fine.

Now I want to install fedora core 4 on another partition on the same hard drive. I have 8 gb of unpartitioned free space kept reserve for this.

But The problem is that when I do install fedora, the new boot loader does not detect my previous linux installation (that is mandrake). And I don't know how to add it manually to the new grub menu .

So, did you actually do the Fedora Core 4 installation, or did you abort the installation?

Hi,

Well! I did complete the fedora installation. It is only after that I realised the problem that the new grub is not detecting the previous linux installation( i.e. mandrake).

But since, madrake was my first choice. So, I re-installed the Mandrake 10.1 all over again and deleted the partition on which I had installed fedora core 4.

Now, the present situation is as follows:-

I have winxp running on sda 1. I have mandrake running on sda 8. Both are working fine together (with grub).

I have 8 gb of unpartitioned space kept reserved for fedora which I want to try installing again.