Compatible Support Forums
Sign in to follow this  
Icu2

Problems with dual booting

Well,

I have bought a new pc and installed winXP + winME on it 80Gb and i have an old hdd 8Gb with fc3. I have used the fc3 about a half a year so im not really experienced. So i want to have all those 3 OS or least winXP and FC3. So could someone write me the step by step configuration for running it. now i can run XP and ME from the main hdd and FC3 from the second and if i try connect both hdd's only windows laucher starts. Grub installed in fc3 hdd.

Posting how-to's is generally too long for a forum like this. Your situation prompts me to ask several questions. Bear with me.

First of all, have a plan. What make amd model PC is this? Yes, it does make a difference.

Do you have a full installation CD of windows XP? Not pre-installed, correct?

Do you know how to jumper hard drives correctly? Why you ask? Your quote;

Quote:
now i can run XP and ME from the main hdd and FC3 from the second and if i try connect both hdd's only windows laucher starts. Grub installed in fc3 hdd.

Of course! Your main 80 gig drive is jumpered as the primary master, so it is the boot drive. When you added the second drive, did you jumper it to slave? I assume that it was master on the old system? Just adding the second drive will not get you to grub, unless you changed how the hard drives were jumpered and cabled.

Or, if you changed the boot order in the bios, then you could boot (in theory) from that drive and get grub. But, since Windows is not conmfigured in Grub on the FC3 drive for this system and how it is set up, you will not be able to boot Windows. That would have to be added through Fedora.

However, personally, I would not trust an old 8 gig drive as reliable. I assume that you had it for some time. Realize that drives do have life spans. Say on average 5 years, depending on the amount of usage.