Compatible Support Forums
Sign in to follow this  
g0kth

Fedora Core 4, Windows XP and Grub

Hi, I'm a Linux newbie and having looked through the various threads relating to my problem I still don't have a solution so would appreciate some pointers.

First of all my setup is an Asrock 939 Dual Sata2 mobo, with AMD Athlon 64 3200 cpu, 1GB of RAM, 160GB SATA HD, 80GB PATA HD and 3GB PATA HD, Asus DVD/CD R/W and of course a floppy drive.

The 160GB HD has Windows XP Pro 64-bit installed and the drive is split into 3 partions, 100GB for windows os and windows programmes, 40GB & 20GB for user files.

The 3GB HD is also used for user files with the intention of these being accessible to windows and linux.

The 80GB HD has Fedora Core 4 (64-bit version) installed.

The windows installation was done first and was working ok.

I then installed FC4. During the installation process it said that it was going to load GRUB in the MBR on /dev/sda which is the 160GB SATA drive.

The installation process identified that 'sda' was the 160GB SATA drive which it split into sda1 and sda2 (which appeared to be further split into sda5 and sda6 which matched the 40GB/20Gb split), 'hda' was the 80GB HD and 'hdb' was the 3GB HD.

During installation the 80GB HD (hda) was split in to:

1 /boot ext3 102MB

2 VolGroup00 LVM PV 78058MB

The VolGroup00 was then split in to:

LogVol00 / ext3 78016MB

LogVol01 swap 1984MB

LogVol02 /home ext3 17152MB

LogVol03 /tmp ext3 1056MB

LogVol04 /usr ext3 17152MB

After installation and on reboot the pc restarted and went straight into windows.

Then I looked on the web for pointers on what might be the problem. Restarting the pc with the 1st FC4 disk and selecting linux rescue I tried 'grub-install --recheck /dev/sda' with the following result:

(fd0) /dev/fd0

(hd0) /dev/hda 80GB HD

(hd1) /dev/hdb 3GB HD

(hd2) /dev/sda 160GB HD SATA

I then rebooted the pc and this time got a blank screen with

GRUB_ in the top left hand corner.