Compatible Support Forums
Sign in to follow this  
spondootre

Sound not working on Mandriva + Toshiba Laptop

Hi all,

I am a complete newbie to Linux, I have literally just finished installing it on my laptop, most things are up and running but I have no sound and don't know where to get a driver etc from or how to install it!! I have a "Linux for Dummies" book that i'm working my way through but I wondered if anyone could tell me how2 ??

I have installed Mandriva, the system is a Toshiba Equium A60.

Thanks

Malc

What sound card are you using? Did you check whether your card is detected? Go to System Settings and Soundcard Detection.

When I go to "configure your computer" then "hardware" and "look at an configure your hardware" then soundcard it shows that it's detected a soundcard -

Identification

Vendor: ‎ATI

Description: ‎IXP150/200 AC'97 Audio Controller

Media class: ‎MULTIMEDIA_AUDIO

Connection

Bus: ‎PCI

Bus PCI #: ‎0

PCI device #: ‎20

PCI function #: ‎5

Vendor ID: ‎4098

Device ID: ‎17217

Sub vendor ID: ‎4473

Sub device ID: ‎65296

Driver

Module: ‎snd-atiixp

Thanks

Malc

OK I now have sound!! I looked on various other forums and the eventual fix was :

open a terminal

sudo kwrite /etc/modules

when the document opens, add snd-sbawe to it

save it, close it and reboot

When I did this the mixer was available in KDE and I just had to adjust the levels.

Malc

Could you tell me what Toshiba laptop model? I'm trying to get both the sound and the internal modem working on a Satellite P10-249. I'm running Centos 2.6.9.

Thanks HotCobra

Unfortunately, you probably won't get a response from the last post, which is over 9 months old.

What model is it that you have? Is it a P10-S429?

This guide may help.

Often, the sound is muted and needs to be set unchecked for mute.

danleff,