Compatible Support Forums
Sign in to follow this  
packman

Can someone recommend a good Broadband Speed assessor?

I've recently switched to ADSL broadband and have been trying to assess my in-practice download speed. I'm supposed to be on an ADSL 2M bits/sec connection but, doing some simple calculations on a couple of sizeable file downloads the other day (Windows updates) indicated that my download speed was nearer 500K bits/sec, about a quarter of what it should be. And no, I'm not stupidly loading the line or anything like that.

My router-modem shows the telecomms company's ADSL line speeds as 2M bits/sec and 256K bits/sec for downstream and upstream but I'm fairly sure it got those figures just from the initial synchronisation, not from any longterm download/upload assessment.

Now, I'm no network expert but I do know that latency, contention and line quality do lower the effective download and upload speeds, from the theoretical values - but to a QUARTER?! No way, surely?!

So, how can I make a convincing measurement of my download speed? Is not what I've done good enough? Can someone suggest a utility that'll do that for me, preferably one that doesn't require Java (as I use Firefox and have got Java disabled)?

I'd have thought that the speed indicated in Firefox, when you do a download, was reasonably accurate. Is that not so?

Actually, that 500K bits/sec figure was as of yesterday, when my ADSL connection first went live. I've now done a dummy download, using Firefox and the average figure it showed on a 4.7MB file (Firefox 1.0.3) was 195kB/sec. I take that to be bytes/sec.

Well, 195kB/sec = 1560Kbits/sec = 1.56M bits/sec.

That's more like it! Still a bit low, but then I'm about 3 - 5km from my local exchange, so I can't expect miracles.

I'm sure there are hundreds of sites to choose from. Here is one:

http://www.dslreports.org/tools