Compatible Support Forums
Sign in to follow this  
biggaloo

stop: c000021a {Fatal System Error} -- newb meets minor heart attack... seeks me

The Session Manager Initialization system process terminated unexpectedly with a status of 0xc000003a (0x00000000 0x00000000). The system has been shut down."

that's the whole error message... and all I see on the infamous blue screen... though I refuse to acknowledge it has anything to do with death :-)

Here we go...

I'm a newbie to Linux and this is one of those times when I feel like I should just regress and submit to the powers of M$, but I'm stubborn and actually care about civil liberties, invasion of privacy, etc, so I'm in this one to win it.

I have searched through th existing threads on this one as well as having done some poking around on the net for a solution and hereby throw myself upon the mercy of greater minds and experience (and have been pointed to linuxcompatible by a few seasoned vets):

Here's how the boys at M$ describe my problem -- that is, this is almost EXACTLY it:

http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;317189

There are 2 things that don't fit

1) they seem to imply it's only an NT thing -- my system is XP Pro (specs follow)

2) their message is for 0xc0000017 status - mine is 0xc000003a

-BRAND new (if it had ears, it would still be wet behind them - I'm talkin' this-week new, factory-direct)

-IBM Thinkpad T42, Pentium M 1.7 GHZ, 60GB, 7200 RPM HDD, 1GB PC2700 DDR SDRAM, Intel Pro Wireless 2200 integrated wireless B/G

It's been partitioned successfully using Partition Magic and all was well with XP... then I installed Ubuntu (www.ubuntulinux.com - latest stable of Warty Warthog): my Linux distro of choice. The concept all along was to buy this machine with the express intent of running Windows parallel with Linux. No I'm starting to feel like it might be cheaper to pay programmers to write scripts for every non compatible peripheral that sparked this fine mess...