Compatible Support Forums
Sign in to follow this  
vegetableman

IIS Web Server Accessed With Port-Forwarding

I'm quite new at this, so I'm sorry if I'm asking dumb questions...

So, I'm trying to set up an IIS web server behind my LinkSys router. I set the IP address of the server to a static number (192.168.1.10) so it doesn't get messed up by the DHCP I've got running from the router to the other 5 computers on the router.

I've set up port range forwarding to forward all requests at port 81-83 to the internal IP of the server.

In the IIS controls on the server I've set the website's TCP port to 82. It works, because typing http://localhost/ on the server doesn't get anything, but http://localhost:82/ works perfectly.

BUT I can't access that website from outside the server. As far as I understand, I should, with these setting, be able to access my website by typing my router's IP address:82. But it doesn't work. What am I missing?

The thing is that I can access my router itself by typing in ipaddress:8080, so it's not like the IP is wrong. The settings on the port forwarding are pretty clear as well, so I assume my problem lies in my lack of understanding how exactly to set up my IIS web server...

Any help would be graciously appreciated...

David

Its been a long time since I touched and IIS, but, if you set up your IIS server behind the router why do you use the router's IP to access your website, use the IP of the IIS server, localhost you only use while on the IIS itself.

I know that localhost is only on the IIS server itself...I just threw that in there to show that the server is running fine as far as I can tell.

I thought that I needed to use the IP of the router and use the port number forwarding to send the signal to the server THROUGH the router.

The server's IP address is internal to the router, so from outside the router that IP address is something else.