Compatible Support Forums
Sign in to follow this  
DyingMuppet

need help w/ Gentoo linux 2004.3

Hello,

I have downloaded gentoo 2004.3 a couple of days ago, and installed it 3 times after eachother because it didn't workt like I wanted :x. Now it's the fourth time, I used the handbook of gentoo 2004.3 from http://www.gentoo.org, the installation worked till I had to merge KDE, that worked but then I wanted to start kde, and there I was stuck. I used the genkernel settings, because I'm new with linux and it looked the easiest but not the fastest way for me. can anyone help me out from here??

Don't mind my English, I'm from Dutch smile

If it's not importat to you to have the 2.6 kernel, the easiest way I've found to install Gentoo is with Anaconda Gentoo. It's just as easy as installing Redhat or Fedora, finding hardware and everything, only you're left with a bare Gentoo installation with which to merge into what you want.

Of course there's always Slackware which in my opinion, is far less complicated, but provides most of the advantages of a Gentoo installation.

http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/kde-config.xml

Check out "exec startkde". Just make sure that you are logged on as yourself (and not root) when you create the .xinitrc file.

Once you have it started, and you are ready to commit it to all users, check out the later steps in that doc. This is the important one:

# nano -w /etc/rc.conf

(Edit the following two variables)

XSESSION="kde-3.2.1"

DISPLAYMANAGER="kdm"

thank you,

I'm still busy with installing, I have set kernel 2.4 in the begining but that doesn't matter so much I hope smile

I was just in time to watch at the forum again because I'm now at the /etc/rc.conf settings smile

grtzz DM

Hello,

I have installed gentoo hapily ever after and now I'm in the graphical version of kde but i can't get onto the internet!! ;(

can someone help me out

kind regards DM