Compatible Support Forums
Sign in to follow this  
ITR000

Linux Firewall / PPPoE xDSL Connection

I am new to the Linux world and had a few questions regarding configuring a Linux box to act as a firewall, as well as, connecting to my local xDSL service.

As mentioned I would like the Linux box to connect via PPPoE to my ISP (xDSL) and provide firewalling to the rest on my internal segment.

I would like to know what Linux distro would be the best for this application, as well, what NIC's are recommended since I will need two.

The hardware I have allocated for this project;

AMD K6-2 - 400

512 MB RAM

Adaptec 2940 SCSI Card

40 GB SCSI drive

Acer Motherboard

Any help would be greatly apperciated.

You are really talking about three issues. Which distro of Linux, how to set up PPPoE and Firewalling.

You also asked about network cards. If this is a home system and you just want a fast reliable connection almost all of the 10/100 Base-T cards work just fine. Personally I have all Netgear cards in my smaller systems. I use the Netgear FA210TX and FA312TX cards with the "tulip" driver. They cost 14.95-19.95 retail in single unit quantity. As these cards are recognized at install time, you won't have to worry about the driver. Lots of other cards will work as well, I just buy Netgear by the box (large) so I use what I got.

First, I happen to favor Fedora Core 3. It is comprehensive and the basis for the following information about setting up PPPoE and firewall rules. You can download FC3 as .iso images and burn the images (4 total) to CDs for installation. Note, be careful when doing this, you want to have your CD burning software burn the .iso image, NOT a data file!