Jump to content


Photo

Knoppix 3.7 Pro


  • Please log in to reply
42 replies to this topic

#1 Wicked101

Wicked101

    addict

  • Members
  • 406 posts

Posted 01 January 2005 - 11:16 PM

Hi,

I've given up now with Suse 9.1, now I've got the Knoppix 3.7 Pro live CD, I unpacked everything on the HDD but I cant find anything about Wireless LAN on Knoppix, is it possible? if so, please explain nice and slow, as I am pretty slow when it comes to Linux.

Thanks

#2 Dapper Dan

Dapper Dan

    Pooh-Bah

  • Moderators
  • 1703 posts

Posted 02 January 2005 - 02:37 AM

I seem to remember Knoppix has a pretty good utility called...

wlcardconfig

...that works very well for wireless. You just fill in the parameters and press enter for the next question. Try that.

#3 Wicked101

Wicked101

    addict

  • Members
  • 406 posts

Posted 02 January 2005 - 03:49 AM

Thanks for the reply, if I may ask please, how do I use "wlcardconfig"? or how do I do/start/run it?

Thanks

#4 Dapper Dan

Dapper Dan

    Pooh-Bah

  • Moderators
  • 1703 posts

Posted 02 January 2005 - 05:17 AM

Sorry. First, open up a terminal. It doesn't matter which one. I personally like konsole 'cause you can cut and paste with it. Now you must become "Super User." There are certain configurations and installations that require this. type:

su

And press enter.

It will ask for your root password. type it in and press enter. You are now Super User. Now type:

wlcardconfig

And press enter. The program should then come up.

What type of Wireless card do you have? Let's make sure it's compatible. What wireless router are you using?


#5 Wicked101

Wicked101

    addict

  • Members
  • 406 posts

Posted 02 January 2005 - 10:42 PM

If I log on as "root" do I still have to do the super user thing?

I'm using a D-Link +624 Router that is connected to the DSL modem. The point I'm using on my PC is a FiberLine wireless USB Dongle

#6 Dapper Dan

Dapper Dan

    Pooh-Bah

  • Moderators
  • 1703 posts

Posted 03 January 2005 - 12:26 AM

Originally posted by Wicked101:
Quote:
If I log on as "root" do I still have to do the super user thing?

No. You'll essentially be doing the same thing. It's just easier to open a terminal and become root rather that logging out then back in as root everytime you need administrative permissions.
Quote:
I'm using a D-Link +624 Router that is connected to the DSL modem.

Is this an 802.11b or 802.11g?
Quote:
The point I'm using on my PC is a FiberLine wireless USB Dongle

I'm not familiar with this piece of hardware, but any time I see "USB" and "wireless" in the same sentence I have misgivings as it applies to Linux. frown

Can you give us a link to the specs on this Dongle? Is it 802.11b or g?

Did you have your wireless hardware running under SuSE?


#7 Wicked101

Wicked101

    addict

  • Members
  • 406 posts

Posted 03 January 2005 - 03:01 AM

Oh yes, sorry, I forgot to add that, its a 802.11b.
Nope, I could not get it to run on Suse, I tried everything the nice people here said but right at the end it would not open the program it was supposed to to configure it. I have a topic here somewhere concerning this.

This is what my dongle is called:

IEEE 802.11b WLAN Mini USB Adapter

and it has this number on it:

FCC ID:PANWL1207

and it says:

Made in China:)

Here's 2 PDF files about it:
http://www.wificentrum.sk/buxus/docs/download/WL-161%20Q.S.G%20multi-language.pdf
http://www.ccandc.co...1207_Manual.pdf

Thanks
Wicked

#8 Wicked101

Wicked101

    addict

  • Members
  • 406 posts

Posted 04 January 2005 - 07:05 PM

Here is a photo of my FiberLine WLAN Mini USB Dongle
I tried using "NDISWRAPPER" to use my windows driver and it all went well till the final step then it said its already installed. Then I tried "WLCARDCONFIG" and it says "No Wireless Network Found"
What do I do now? please
I'm still slow at Linux, the stuff I did is what I read on the internet:) (I know I almost sounded a little bit clever there with all those fancy commands and stuff:))

Thanks
Wicked101

#9 Dapper Dan

Dapper Dan

    Pooh-Bah

  • Moderators
  • 1703 posts

Posted 04 January 2005 - 08:48 PM

Huh! I could have sworn I posted after your previous post! Well... I guess I wrote it up and previewed it without posting. I've done that a few times before, sorry.

Anyway, do you find it listed when you do:

/sbin/lsusb

from a terminal as root?

what does the ouput say? Sometimes it will give the actual chipset rather than just the manufacturer. That would help to know what chipset.

#10 Wicked101

Wicked101

    addict

  • Members
  • 406 posts

Posted 05 January 2005 - 01:47 AM

Not too worry:) no problem at all, at least you replied (like they say, rather late than never:))
Thanks for the reply and all the help so far, and I'm sorry for possibly getting on anyones nerves, but once I get my Knoppix working on the WLAN I'll start learning more and more about it and soon I'll be able to help out on this site too.

OK, back to the point, I tried /sbin/lsusb but it did not work, so I tried it with just the /lsusb and that worked, I think, this is what it gave me/us

Bus 001 Device 002: ID 0457:0162 Silicon Integrated Systems Corp.
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 0000:0000

Hmmm, translation?.....

#11 Wicked101

Wicked101

    addict

  • Members
  • 406 posts

Posted 05 January 2005 - 04:25 AM

I was experimenting a bit:) hee hee, I played with the wlcfg-default file, changed some things inside for the settings of my D-Link with the WEP and all, I aslo read in one of those files in the /etc/wlan folder that I need to create a file called wlan-<SSID>, which I did, I just made a copy of the default one and renamed it to that with my SSID and edited the file with all settings and removing the "#'s" to the things I need, but it still dont work:( like I said, I'm still very new to linux, still learning. My head is flat now, I got no more ideas about how to get this to work.

#12 Dapper Dan

Dapper Dan

    Pooh-Bah

  • Moderators
  • 1703 posts

Posted 05 January 2005 - 06:18 AM

I'm mostly just coming up empty every way I go trying to figure out what can be done to get your adapter to work.
It seems from the pdf files you link to that your dongle uses what is known as a baseband/mac wlan chipset. It is unclear to me whether there is actually Linux drivers for this chipset or they are still under development.
I also found this and this. Anything there look familiar?

Like I said, Linux+USB+Wireless=headaches! Anyone else have any ideas? If we can't get any movement on this soon would you consider spending a little cash for an adapter that is known to work? We can give plenty of fairly inexpensive suggestions.

#13 Wicked101

Wicked101

    addict

  • Members
  • 406 posts

Posted 05 January 2005 - 03:01 PM

Check out this site.

Thanks for the help so far, I really hope we will be able to get this working, cause I honestly dont have the money to buy anything (not even fast food) as I'm still unemployed and have been for the past 8 months, but if I had the money I would've bought one that works cause I really want this to work.

Thanks for the links, I'm busy looking at them now, mine looks like that FL-WL240U

#14 Wicked101

Wicked101

    addict

  • Members
  • 406 posts

Posted 05 January 2005 - 03:43 PM

I just opened my WLAN USB Dongle/Stick and found the following.

On one side it has a chip that says:
SIS162U

On the other side it has a chip that says:
AIROHA
AL2210B

Does this mean anything to you, might it help, I hope this helps

#15 Wicked101

Wicked101

    addict

  • Members
  • 406 posts

Posted 05 January 2005 - 04:05 PM

OK, and now I have this Driver and Patch from one of these 2 sites you gave me, what I would like to know is how do I install them now, please? They dont tell me on the site how to do it.

Thanks
Wicked

#16 Dapper Dan

Dapper Dan

    Pooh-Bah

  • Moderators
  • 1703 posts

Posted 05 January 2005 - 04:25 PM

Read this

#17 Dapper Dan

Dapper Dan

    Pooh-Bah

  • Moderators
  • 1703 posts

Posted 05 January 2005 - 04:28 PM

And this.

#18 Wicked101

Wicked101

    addict

  • Members
  • 406 posts

Posted 05 January 2005 - 05:00 PM

Hey, that means that my Linux pick it up, cause it says the ID is "0x0457:0x0162", and that is what it picked up when I ran that "lsusb" you said I should, nice, now that it looks like its found it, how can I get it to work? please

#19 Dapper Dan

Dapper Dan

    Pooh-Bah

  • Moderators
  • 1703 posts

Posted 05 January 2005 - 06:27 PM

Wicked, I think we're snagged. frown You said that SIS162U was printed on that chip. Look here and see that the '162' is one of two versions that there isn't a Linux driver for.

Stll, I would try the Integrated driver for it to see. It might be worth a try...

If you want to try it and get stuck trying to install it, let us know. Sorry I couldn't help more...

#20 Wicked101

Wicked101

    addict

  • Members
  • 406 posts

Posted 05 January 2005 - 09:28 PM

But Linux says that the driver is already installed, like when I ran that "lsusb", it said

Bus 001 Device 002: ID 0457:0162 Silicon Integrated Systems Corp.

Is there any way I can test it?




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

IPB Skin By Virteq