Compatible Support Forums
Sign in to follow this  
hollywood63

Getting mad at Mandrake

I have tried everything under the sun trying to get mandrake installed as a dual boot with XP. I read that this is suppose to be easy to install but all I run into it seems is problems. I boot the computer with disk 1 and the disk restarts my puter. It then goes through some things and starts to do the installation all is fine till I get to the partition part. I pick used unused space and adjust my partition to the size I want (about 20g). I then select done from the menu and I get a message (I can not read ntsf please pick another option). Which leads me to shutting down from frustration. I am new at Linux distros. which could be my problem I am also a good novice at best with windows but I really want this Mandrake because it is suppose to be nice. Can anyone help me out I have tried other forums to no avail and this one seems to have people that respond to questions with some good advice.

Any thoughts would be greatly apprecaited

Art

You have to tell linux exactly what kind of partition you are setting up. If you are giving a partition of around 20Gigs, you will need these options set;

1. /boot (HD over 12 Gigs, you have to set this slice) = 120-150 Megs, Journalized Filesystem.

2. /swap (A must) = Double the amount of RAM you have, you should set it to less if over 256 Megs of RAM.

3. /root = Remainder of Space, and again use the Journalized Filesystem.

You will only be able to mount your XP partitions as ReadOnly, if you are using NTFS.

The easiest way to dual boot is to do the following;

1. Install XP,

2. Install Mandrake, but when it prompts you to use boot diskette, say YES, and

3. When it prompts you to use a boot loader, (eg. Lilo, Grub..) say NO.