Compatible Support Forums
Sign in to follow this  
LinuxCrusader

Spyware? Virus?

I've been using Linux for the last couple of years from Mandrake, red-hat, fedora, etc...but now I think I really like Knoppix. I must say that linux has really the best OS out there. I love it.

I was wondering though...is there such a things as spyware and/or malware on Linux? I'm supposing not since I've never heard of such a thing, but just wondering. Has there been any viruses for it? Many people argue that there hasn't been because it is not the mainstream OS yet.

I'm a network admin for my company, and I would love to get them on linux, but I guess there are a bunch of software that I'm don't think is supported under Linux (yeah, wine people would suggest but in reality in only fully supports 10 software apps out there. The apps that my job mostly use are (if anyone knows out there the matches for it that would beautifully work under linux, please post it):

Act

Best Software - Mass 90, 200

Quickbooks

And some of there third party apps suchs as timeclocks software.

There is malware out there for linux, but not in the way you think of malware for Windows. It's very hard to pick up a virus from an email in Linux because regular users do not have admin privileges to the machine. Without the root password, malware can do little to take over the machine.

Spyware is not considered a threat in Linux right now - at least, not to me. I'm sure that as Linux gains more attention we will find people finding ways to exploit flaws if they exist, but as Linux is set up in the way I described earlier, it's practically impossible for a web browser to install a root-level process and take over the machine.

All in all, the structure of Linux makes it more secure than Windows.