Compatible Support Forums
Sign in to follow this  
[php]

Mozilla and Konqueror

Not sure if I'm posting this in the right place but I have used Slax Live CD and had the same problem as I am about to explain. I just built a new computer for the sole purpose of installing Mandrakelinux. My problem happened using live cd as well but web pages take forever to load in both these browsers. It says resolving for upto 45 to 60 seconds and the pages take forever. However I did a speedtest and the results were what I get with my windows xp set-up.. I use a Linksys router.

I searched the net and seen a few fixes to try but not sure which one to do. I am a total newbie to Linux..

I did try one fix that had you go into mozilla and set ipv6 or something like that to true and I did that but no improvement.

Can anyone point me in the right direction?

Thanks

The computer I built has 512mb ddr .. amd sempron 2500 + cpu..

120 gb wd 7200 rpm 8m cache..

That should be more than enough for Slack to do its thing. I don't think ipv6 is an issue. Most websites still use ipv4 or a combination of the two.

See if Slack has either links or lynx command line browser. These browsers have no pictures only text. Fire one of those up and see if you can detect a difference in speed surfing the net.

Can you link me to those pages that you found that have potential fixes for this problem?

Does Slack perform satisfactorily otherwise?

Hi Dan

I don't think I explained myself clear enough. But before I installed a linux os I wanted to try a live cd and I did and liked it. I have mandrake 10.1 official on it now.. But they both acted the same with the browser issue. Here is the link to one of the posts I was reading.. http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/history/138541

And thanks for trying to help me.. I'm sure its just a setting somewhere that needs to changed. I'm glad I switched from windows to linux. I just need to get a few issues fixed and learn linux..