Compatible Support Forums
Sign in to follow this  
ka1zex

WEP Shared Key wireless encryption and general etc's

Hi, I just installed SUSE 9.1 personal on my twinhead A5020 laptop. First of all I discovered that my Dlink DWL-G650 AirPlusXtremeG card works just fine with no more than basic input from me, which is very nice. The only thing I can't seem to figure out is how to do the enryption. I use a Linksys WRT54GS wireless router with no SSID and pre-shared WEP key encryption. I think I need someone to hold my hand to get that setup in the laptop.

Let me say I am extremly disapointed that my linksys wpc54gs card does not work like the dlink card does. I tried to download a precompiled ndiswrapper thing that I read about here, but it did not install, not sure why. So I can't get that working yet, and apparently suse doesnt have the compiler thing built in to go about it that way. (I am REALLY a novice at this as if you can't tell) Don't know if someone can point me in the right direction there. I don't know that I'll be buying anymore linksys products in the near future. (not to mention the windows XP driver seems to be poorly written and always installs with a runtime error, and forget trying to uninstall reinstall, we wont go there)

I also just bought an old 802.11B card on ebay made by orinco? with some other name on it and it comes with a magmount antenna. Thought that might be cool since I can usually pick up plenty of default linksys networks around here with just the regular card. Enterasys is what it actually says on the card. Anyone have any experience with these? I am really hoping it is not a PoS. Seemed like a good deal at... $40? with shipping incl i think. Was wondering what kind of software for linux was around to find networks and possibly automatically connect to them as i drive around? I really don't know anything about it, but that would be cool if it can be done.