Jump to content


Photo

Linux Suse 9.1 with WLAN


  • Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 Wicked101

Wicked101

    addict

  • Members
  • 406 posts

Posted 17 November 2004 - 11:45 AM

Hi all, I've got a little problem, I'm new to the wonderful world of linux, I'm running Suse 9.1 Pro, my PC specs is P4C800-E Deluxe motherboard with onboard Wifi slot, I got the Asus Wifi-b card with antenna, with XP it work fine but I cant get Linux to even get a signal to my Access Point. I hope that someone could be able to help me please.

Thanks
Wicked

#2 adamvjackson

adamvjackson

    Pooh-Bah

  • Members
  • 2174 posts

Posted 18 November 2004 - 11:37 PM

Is the card detected and installed correctly (in YaST2 or hardware browser)?

I think SUSE 9.1 has IPv6 enabled by default, you may want to try turning that off.

#3 Wicked101

Wicked101

    addict

  • Members
  • 406 posts

Posted 19 November 2004 - 07:50 PM

Hmmm, like I said, I'm still a bit new with linux, I know it as well as a 80 year old knows how a cellphone works, slowly please.
I've played with Yast a little bit, and I think it picked up the Wifi card, but then again it could be anything it picked up and cause it says ASUS I thought it could be the card. I've got an ASUS (P4C800-E Deluxe) motherboard with onboard Wifi slot, so I bought the ASUS Wifi-b card, it says on the box "For ASUS Wi-Fi slot only, not PCI interface".

What is IPv6? and how do I turn it off? please.

Thanks for the help so far, I really appreciate it.

#4 danleff

danleff

    Carpal Tunnel

  • Moderators
  • 2903 posts

Posted 19 November 2004 - 10:26 PM

Hmm.. I wonder about the Asus card in their specially designed wifi slot and legacy card. I just got an Asus A7N8X-E, which I am setting up today. Did you look on google? I did s small search and came up empty Linux wise. They don't mention what chipset that they are using. Any idea what chipset it is?

Does it work in Windows..if so, is a special driver required?

And..is the card support enabled in the bios?

In Suse, does the control panel (yast) see the card?

How about ifconfig run in a terminal?

#5 adamvjackson

adamvjackson

    Pooh-Bah

  • Members
  • 2174 posts

Posted 19 November 2004 - 10:36 PM

Just a note, if you're not familiar with ifconfig, it's similar to ipconfig in Windows 2000/XP.

Invoke it by:

/sbin/ifconfig

smile

#6 danleff

danleff

    Carpal Tunnel

  • Moderators
  • 2903 posts

Posted 19 November 2004 - 11:07 PM

Originally posted by adamvjackson:
Quote:
Just a note, if you're not familiar with ifconfig, it's similar to ipconfig in Windows 2000/XP.

Invoke it by:

/sbin/ifconfig

smile


Sorry, I missed the new to Linux part. As adamvjackson suggested, run it in a terminal. See if you get more than one line of output, other than a line with "lo" (local). If you do, post the result, if possible.

Also, run lspci -vv -s in the terminal (thats 2 v's not a w) and see if the card model seems to be described in the text that results that remotely notes "wifi" or the card, such as;

0000:00:09.0 Network controller: RaLink Wireless PCI Adpator RT2400 / RT2460
Subsystem: Asustek Computer, Inc.: Unknown device 0126
Control: I/O+ Mem+ BusMaster+ SpecCycle- MemWINV+ VGASnoop- ParErr- Stepping- SERR+ FastB2B-
Status: Cap+ 66MHz- UDF- FastB2B- ParErr- DEVSEL=slow >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR- <PERR-
Latency: 64, Cache Line Size: 0x40 (256 bytes)
Interrupt: pin A routed to IRQ 16
Region 0: Memory at fde00000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable)
Capabilities: [40] Power Management version 2
Flags: PMEClk- DSI- D1- D2- AuxCurrent=0mA PME(D0-,D1-,D2-,D3hot-,D3cold-)
Status: D0 PME-Enable- DSel=0 DScale=0 PME

Reference

#7 Wicked101

Wicked101

    addict

  • Members
  • 406 posts

Posted 20 November 2004 - 12:04 PM

Thanks to all for the posts, I will try this now and get back to you A.S.A.P., I have to shut my PC to get into Linux first.

And danleff, to answer your question, yes, it works 100% in Windows, it needs a driver, nothing special I dont think, because its a WiFi slot I can either use my motherboard CD to install the driver or I can use the CD that came with my WiFi@home card.

OK, I will try this now and get back to you.

Thanks

#8 Wicked101

Wicked101

    addict

  • Members
  • 406 posts

Posted 20 November 2004 - 12:43 PM

OK, I did it, with "/sbin/ifconfig" I got;

(none):~ # /sbin/ifconfig
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:0C:6E:AE:AE:A6
inet6 addr: fe80::20c:6eff:feae:aea6/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST NOTRAILERS MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
Base address:0xcf80 Memory:fe9e0000-fea00000

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:182 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:182 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:11932 (11.6 Kb) TX bytes:11932 (11.6 Kb)


And with this "lspci -vv -s" I got;

(none):~ # lspci -vv -s
lspci: option requires an argument -- s
Usage: lspci [<switches>]

-v Be verbose
-n Show numeric ID's
-b Bus-centric view (PCI addresses and IRQ's instead of those seen by the CPU)
-x Show hex-dump of the standard portion of config space
-xxx Show hex-dump of the whole config space (dangerous; root only)
-s [[<bus>]:][<slot>][.[<func>]] Show only devices in selected slots
-d [<vendor>]:[<device>] Show only selected devices
-t Show bus tree
-m Produce machine-readable output
-i <file> Use specified ID database instead of /usr/share/pci.ids
-M Enable `bus mapping' mode (dangerous; root only)
-P <dir> Use specified directory instead of /proc/bus/pci
-H <mode> Use direct hardware access (<mode> = 1 or 2)
-F <file> Read configuration data from given file
-G Enable PCI access debugging

#9 Wicked101

Wicked101

    addict

  • Members
  • 406 posts

Posted 20 November 2004 - 12:49 PM

I dont think the -s worked in "lspci -vv -s", so I did it without it, just "lspci -vv" and then it gave me a whole lot of stuff, but this is the one you asked for;

0000:03:0d.0 Network controller: Unknown device 1814:0101
Subsystem: Asustek Computer, Inc.: Unknown device 0127
Control: I/O+ Mem+ BusMaster+ SpecCycle- MemWINV+ VGASnoop- ParErr- Stepping- SERR+ FastB2B-
Status: Cap+ 66Mhz- UDF- FastB2B- ParErr- DEVSEL=slow >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR- <PERR-
Latency: 64, cache line size 04
Interrupt: pin A routed to IRQ 21
Region 0: Memory at feafc000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable)
Capabilities: [40] Power Management version 2
Flags: PMEClk- DSI- D1- D2- AuxCurrent=0mA PME(D0-,D1-,D2-,D3hot-,D3cold-)
Status: D0 PME-Enable- DSel=0 DScale=0 PME-



If you want the rest of it let me know and I can paste all of it for you.

Thanks again,
Wicked

#10 Wicked101

Wicked101

    addict

  • Members
  • 406 posts

Posted 20 November 2004 - 02:08 PM

Hi, I just looked on the box of the WiFi card, I think the model is "WiFi-B/RALINK-EAY", that's exactly how they say it on the box.

#11 Wicked101

Wicked101

    addict

  • Members
  • 406 posts

Posted 26 November 2004 - 01:51 PM

Hmmm, I hope someone can help me with this problem, I still cant get it to work. Please please please.

Thanks

#12 egorgry

egorgry

    enthusiast

  • Members
  • 315 posts

Posted 26 November 2004 - 04:39 PM

couple of things to try. *DISCLAIMER* I've never messed with wireless or suse.

lspci -v | grep -i ethernet

you should get back some info like this
lspci -v | grep -i ethernet
0000:02:0e.0 Ethernet controller: National Semiconductor Corporation DP83815 (MacPhyter) Ethernet Controller

it looks like you see something but it's not getting an IP

as root check your default route
netstat -rn

as root type
dhclient
this will try to get you an IP from your ISP/router


#13 Dapper Dan

Dapper Dan

    Pooh-Bah

  • Moderators
  • 1703 posts

Posted 26 November 2004 - 05:09 PM

Hi Wicked101,

Ipv6 is the new protocol websites are supposed to be migrating over to from Ipv4, which is what most all use now.

Do you see your card on this list?

Which chipset does it show?


#14 Wicked101

Wicked101

    addict

  • Members
  • 406 posts

Posted 26 November 2004 - 05:48 PM

Hi Dan,

I cant find mine in that list, I dont even know what to look for, what I can tell you about this card:

ASUS WiFi-b
802.11b Wireless Lan Card (For ASUS WiFi slot only, not PCI interface)
WiFi@HOME

WiFi-B/RALINK.EAY
P.NO:90-C1TAC5-00EAY
MADE IN TAIWAN
44CG216836

On windows it says:
ASUS 802.11b Network Adapter
Driver File : RT2400.sys
Provider: Ralink Technology Inc.
File version: 1.09.03.0000 built by :WinDDK

That is all the info I can give you.

If possible, please help, slowly.

Thanks

#15 Dapper Dan

Dapper Dan

    Pooh-Bah

  • Moderators
  • 1703 posts

Posted 26 November 2004 - 06:08 PM

Just so we all can have a visual, is this what you have? Also, do you have any regular pci slots on that motherboard?

#16 Wicked101

Wicked101

    addict

  • Members
  • 406 posts

Posted 26 November 2004 - 10:10 PM

Yes, exactly, that is correct, thats my card, the one and only
I do have regular PCI slots, 5 of them, but the WiFi takes up the space of Slot 5, therefore WiFi and slot 5 cant be shared, and I think it might even se slot 5 as bus.

#17 Dapper Dan

Dapper Dan

    Pooh-Bah

  • Moderators
  • 1703 posts

Posted 27 November 2004 - 12:22 AM

I've been Googling your card and have come up empty with it working with Linux. The reason I asked about regular PCI slots was, if your ASUS card can't be configured to work with Linux, you may want to consider another wireless PCI card. I use the Netgear MA311 802.11b. It's not that expensive and does work very well. Just something to consider...

#18 danleff

danleff

    Carpal Tunnel

  • Moderators
  • 2903 posts

Posted 27 November 2004 - 12:52 AM

Also take a look at the thread on Linux Questions. The moderator, finegan, has a post about this.

Reference Section 3.26

#19 Wicked101

Wicked101

    addict

  • Members
  • 406 posts

Posted 27 November 2004 - 02:23 AM

Thanks for all the help, I will have to find a job before I can buy anything new.
But, I have a USB wireless dongle, its a Fibreline "WLAN Mini USB Dongle"
FCC ID: PANWL1207

I've tried this as well but I dont have a cooking clue what I am doing with Linux, yet smile

Do you think I would be able to use the USB one?

Thanks

#20 danleff

danleff

    Carpal Tunnel

  • Moderators
  • 2903 posts

Posted 27 November 2004 - 02:44 AM

It doesn't look too good either, see here.

I would consider either what Dan suggested, or a wired NIC card for now. At $10 or so USD, it would save a lot of headaches.

Does this motherboard have on onboard NIC, as my A7n7x does?




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

IPB Skin By Virteq