Jump to content


Photo

Linux and Drivers question


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 serverxeon

serverxeon

    stranger

  • Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 10 November 2004 - 06:28 PM

Sorry.. Linux Noob here..

just wondering, to i need to install my chipset drivers, lan drivers like i need to in windows? how?

Also, is there anyway to make my USB MP3 player workable on linux platform?http://www.msi.com.t...ail.php?UID=485

thx

#2 egorgry

egorgry

    enthusiast

  • Members
  • 315 posts

Posted 10 November 2004 - 08:49 PM

welcome.
Chances are those drivers are no good for linux. The mp3 player should work. If you need help setting it up I'll be glad to help.

#3 danleff

danleff

    Carpal Tunnel

  • Moderators
  • 2903 posts

Posted 11 November 2004 - 12:24 AM

Linux uses it's own drivers, usually supplied in the flavor (distro) of Linux that you are using. If you provide us with some idea of what hardware is in your system (if you built it yourself), we can guide you better. Or, what make and model system do you have?

Additional drivers may be needed for some hardware, but without knowing what you have, we can't advise easily.

In the newer distros, drivers are not necessary in many cases. What will also help, is letting us know what version of Windows that you are running now.

...and what version and distro were you planning or thinking about running?

#4 serverxeon

serverxeon

    stranger

  • Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 11 November 2004 - 06:24 AM

thanks alot for your replies.

I'm running a FC2 on a Celeron 433Mhz(No Other OS installed) It works on a SIS chipset.. i'm not sure how to check since i've installed linux and my chipset checking program cant work on it... It has SIS integrated graphics also..

Audio is working. so no problem. Oh yah by the way, the motherboard is from a Compaq Presario 5356.

#5 danleff

danleff

    Carpal Tunnel

  • Moderators
  • 2903 posts

Posted 11 November 2004 - 12:14 PM

Ok, if you have gotten this far on a legacy board like this, then you are 1/2 way there. Sound working is a good sign, so the sis chipset stuff is fine. The processor probably runs a little slow, but it looks like your gui is up and running.

How much memory is in the system? This will also affect performance.

Is there anything that is not working, except the MP3 stick at this point?

If not, then I egorgry can work with you on the player.

#6 serverxeon

serverxeon

    stranger

  • Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 11 November 2004 - 05:47 PM

basically, no others. i'm not sure if i have to install the graphics, but the graphics look fine, in true colour.

I guess there's only the problem of my MP3 not showing up. How do i get around my MP3 now?

#7 egorgry

egorgry

    enthusiast

  • Members
  • 315 posts

Posted 11 November 2004 - 07:26 PM

Originally posted by serverxeon:
Quote:
basically, no others. i'm not sure if i have to install the graphics, but the graphics look fine, in true colour.

I guess there's only the problem of my MP3 not showing up. How do i get around my MP3 now?


I will certainly help you out with this when I get some time later tonight... hopefully. in the mean time what mp3 palyer do you have? and give me as much info about your system as possible this will save a lto of going back and forth with hardware and software questions. Post the output of lsmod, dmesg (with the device pluged in) and uname -a

from the command line it's just...

uname -a
dmesg
lsmod


#8 serverxeon

serverxeon

    stranger

  • Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 12 November 2004 - 03:57 AM

sorry, but may i know how can i access the command line from my FC2?

#9 egorgry

egorgry

    enthusiast

  • Members
  • 315 posts

Posted 12 November 2004 - 04:47 AM

if you are using Gnome go to Applications > System Tools > Terminal or right click on the desktop and open terminal.

#10 serverxeon

serverxeon

    stranger

  • Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 12 November 2004 - 07:47 AM

er.. then how do i show u what came up on the screen? there's a whole bunch of data.. im using my windows xp to access the internet. and, the com says there isn't a file name lsmod
[Edited by serverxeon on 2004-11-12 00:28:46]


#11 egorgry

egorgry

    enthusiast

  • Members
  • 315 posts

Posted 12 November 2004 - 04:52 PM

redirect the output to a file.

uname -a > uname.txt
lsmod > lsmod.txt
dmesg > dmesg.txt

now you will have three text files with the output form your commands.

#12 serverxeon

serverxeon

    stranger

  • Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 13 November 2004 - 05:16 AM

[root@localhost root]# uname -a
Linux localhost.localdomain 2.6.5-1.358 #1 Sat May 8 09:04:50 EDT 2004 i686 i686 i386 GNU/Linux

#13 serverxeon

serverxeon

    stranger

  • Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 13 November 2004 - 05:28 AM

[root@localhost root]# dmesg
Linux version 2.6.5-1.358 (bhcompile@bugs.build.redhat.com) (gcc version 3.3.3 20040412 (Red Hat Linux 3.3.3-7)) #1 Sat May 8 09:04:50 EDT 2004
BIOS-provided physical RAM map:
BIOS-e820: 0000000000000000 - 000000000009fc00 (usable)
BIOS-e820: 000000000009fc00 - 00000000000a0000 (reserved)
BIOS-e820: 00000000000f0000 - 0000000000100000 (reserved)
BIOS-e820: 0000000000100000 - 0000000017bf0000 (usable)
BIOS-e820: 0000000017bf0000 - 0000000017bf8000 (ACPI data)
BIOS-e820: 0000000017bf8000 - 0000000017c00000 (ACPI NVS)
BIOS-e820: 00000000ffef0000 - 00000000fff00000 (reserved)
BIOS-e820: 00000000ffff0000 - 0000000100000000 (reserved)
0MB HIGHMEM available.
379MB LOWMEM available.
zapping low mappings.
On node 0 totalpages: 97264
DMA zone: 4096 pages, LIFO batch:1
Normal zone: 93168 pages, LIFO batch:16
HighMem zone: 0 pages, LIFO batch:1
DMI 2.3 present.
ACPI disabled because your bios is from 99 and too old
You can enable it with acpi=force
Built 1 zonelists
Kernel command line: ro root=LABEL=/ rhgb quiet
mapped 4G/4G trampoline to ffff3000.
Initializing CPU#0
CPU 0 irqstacks, hard=02345000 soft=02344000
PID hash table entries: 2048 (order 11: 16384 bytes)
Detected 434.392 MHz processor.
Using tsc for high-res timesource
Console: colour VGA+ 80x25
Memory: 382372k/389056k available (1540k kernel code, 5944k reserved, 599k data, 144k init, 0k highmem)
Calibrating delay loop... 854.01 BogoMIPS
Security Scaffold v1.0.0 initialized
SELinux: Initializing.
SELinux: Starting in permissive mode
There is already a security framework initialized, register_security failed.
Failure registering capabilities with the kernel
selinux_register_security: Registering secondary module capability
Capability LSM initialized
Dentry cache hash table entries: 32768 (order: 5, 131072 bytes)
Inode-cache hash table entries: 32768 (order: 5, 131072 bytes)
Mount-cache hash table entries: 512 (order: 0, 4096 bytes)
CPU: After generic identify, caps: 0183f9ff 00000000 00000000 00000000
CPU: After vendor identify, caps: 0183f9ff 00000000 00000000 00000000
CPU: L1 I cache: 16K, L1 D cache: 16K
CPU: L2 cache: 128K
CPU: After all inits, caps: 0183f1ff 00000000 00000000 00000040
Intel machine check architecture supported.
Intel machine check reporting enabled on CPU#0.
CPU: Intel Celeron (Mendocino) stepping 05
Enabling fast FPU save and restore... done.
Checking 'hlt' instruction... OK.
POSIX conformance testing by UNIFIX
NET: Registered protocol family 16
PCI: PCI BIOS revision 2.10 entry at 0xfdb81, last bus=1
PCI: Using configuration type 1
mtrr: v2.0 (20020519)
ACPI: Subsystem revision 20040326
ACPI: Interpreter disabled.
Linux Plug and Play Support v0.97 © Adam Belay
usbcore: registered new driver usbfs
usbcore: registered new driver hub
ACPI: ACPI tables contain no PCI IRQ routing entries
PCI: Invalid ACPI-PCI IRQ routing table
PCI: Probing PCI hardware
PCI: Probing PCI hardware (bus 00)
PCI: Using IRQ router SIS [1039/0008] at 0000:00:01.0
apm: BIOS version 1.2 Flags 0x03 (Driver version 1.16ac)
audit: initializing netlink socket (disabled)
audit(1100342324.217:0): initialized
Total HugeTLB memory allocated, 0
VFS: Disk quotas dquot_6.5.1
Dquot-cache hash table entries: 1024 (order 0, 4096 bytes)
SELinux: Registering netfilter hooks
Initializing Cryptographic API
pci_hotplug: PCI Hot Plug PCI Core version: 0.5
isapnp: Scanning for PnP cards...
isapnp: No Plug & Play device found
Real Time Clock Driver v1.12
Linux agpgart interface v0.100 © Dave Jones
agpgart: Detected SiS 620 chipset
agpgart: Maximum main memory to use for agp memory: 317M
agpgart: AGP aperture is 64M @ 0xe8000000
Serial: 8250/16550 driver $Revision: 1.90 $ 8 ports, IRQ sharing enabled
ttyS0 at I/O 0x3f8 (irq = 4) is a 16550A
RAMDISK driver initialized: 16 RAM disks of 16384K size 1024 blocksize
divert: not allocating divert_blk for non-ethernet device lo
Uniform Multi-Platform E-IDE driver Revision: 7.00alpha2
ide: Assuming 33MHz system bus speed for PIO modes; override with idebus=xx
SIS5513: IDE controller at PCI slot 0000:00:00.1
SIS5513: chipset revision 208
SIS5513: not 100% native mode: will probe irqs later
SIS5513: SiS620 ATA 66 controller
ide0: BM-DMA at 0xffa0-0xffa7, BIOS settings: hda:DMA, hdb:DMA
ide1: BM-DMA at 0xffa8-0xffaf, BIOS settings: hdc:DMA, hdd:DMA
hda: Maxtor 2B020H1, ATA DISK drive
Using cfq io scheduler
ide0 at 0x1f0-0x1f7,0x3f6 on irq 14
hdc: ATAPI-CD ROM-DRIVE-56MAX, ATAPI CD/DVD-ROM drive
ide1 at 0x170-0x177,0x376 on irq 15
hda: max request size: 1024KiB
hda: 40020624 sectors (20490 MB) w/2048KiB Cache, CHS=16383/255/63, UDMA(33)
hda: hda1 hda2 hda3
hdc: ATAPI 56X CD-ROM drive, 128kB Cache, UDMA(33)
Uniform CD-ROM driver Revision: 3.20
ide-floppy driver 0.99.newide
usbcore: registered new driver hiddev
usbcore: registered new driver hid
drivers/usb/input/hid-core.c: v2.0:USB HID core driver
mice: PS/2 mouse device common for all mice
serio: i8042 AUX port at 0x60,0x64 irq 12
input: ImPS/2 Logitech Wheel Mouse on isa0060/serio1
serio: i8042 KBD port at 0x60,0x64 irq 1
input: AT Translated Set 2 keyboard on isa0060/serio0
md: md driver 0.90.0 MAX_MD_DEVS=256, MD_SB_DISKS=27
NET: Registered protocol family 2
IP: routing cache hash table of 4096 buckets, 32Kbytes
TCP: Hash tables configured (established 32768 bind 65536)
Initializing IPsec netlink socket
NET: Registered protocol family 1
NET: Registered protocol family 17
checking if image is initramfs...it isn't (no cpio magic); looks like an initrd
Freeing initrd memory: 187k freed
md: Autodetecting RAID arrays.
md: autorun ...
md: ... autorun DONE.
RAMDISK: Compressed image found at block 0
VFS: Mounted root (ext2 filesystem).
kjournald starting. Commit interval 5 seconds
EXT3-fs: mounted filesystem with ordered data mode.
Freeing unused kernel memory: 144k freed
SELinux: Disabled at runtime.
SELinux: Unregistering netfilter hooks
NET: Registered protocol family 10
Disabled Privacy Extensions on device 022db720(lo)
IPv6 over IPv4 tunneling driver
divert: not allocating divert_blk for non-ethernet device sit0
ohci_hcd: 2004 Feb 02 USB 1.1 'Open' Host Controller (OHCI) Driver (PCI)
ohci_hcd: block sizes: ed 64 td 64
PCI: Found IRQ 11 for device 0000:00:01.2
ohci_hcd 0000:00:01.2: OHCI Host Controller
ohci_hcd 0000:00:01.2: irq 11, pci mem 1a829000
ohci_hcd 0000:00:01.2: new USB bus registered, assigned bus number 1
hub 1-0:1.0: USB hub found
hub 1-0:1.0: 2 ports detected
usb 1-2: new full speed USB device using address 2
SCSI subsystem initialized
Initializing USB Mass Storage driver...
scsi0 : SCSI emulation for USB Mass Storage devices
Vendor: MSI Model: MS-551X Rev: 0100
Type: Direct-Access ANSI SCSI revision: 02
USB Mass Storage device found at 2
usbcore: registered new driver usb-storage
USB Mass Storage support registered.
SCSI device sda: 250624 512-byte hdwr sectors (128 MB)
sda: assuming Write Enabled
sda: assuming drive cache: write through
sda: sda1
Attached scsi removable disk sda at scsi0, channel 0, id 0, lun 0
EXT3 FS on hda2, internal journal
device-mapper: 4.1.0-ioctl (2003-12-10) initialised: dm@uk.sistina.com
Adding 779144k swap on /dev/hda3. Priority:-1 extents:1
kjournald starting. Commit interval 5 seconds
EXT3 FS on hda1, internal journal
EXT3-fs: mounted filesystem with ordered data mode.
IA-32 Microcode Update Driver: v1.13 <tigran@veritas.com>
microcode: CPU0 already at revision 0x3 (current=0x3)
microcode: No suitable data for cpu 0
parport0: PC-style at 0x378 (0x778) [PCSPP,TRISTATE]
parport0: irq 7 detected
inserting floppy driver for 2.6.5-1.358
Floppy drive(s): fd0 is 1.44M
FDC 0 is a National Semiconductor PC87306
8139too Fast Ethernet driver 0.9.27
PCI: Found IRQ 10 for device 0000:00:0a.0
divert: allocating divert_blk for eth0
eth0: RealTek RTL8139 at 0xde00, 00:c0:26:26:0a:f1, IRQ 10
eth0: Identified 8139 chip type 'RTL-8100B/8139D'
divert: freeing divert_blk for eth0
ip_tables: © 2000-2002 Netfilter core team
ip_conntrack version 2.1 (3039 buckets, 24312 max) - 296 bytes per conntrack
8139too Fast Ethernet driver 0.9.27
PCI: Found IRQ 10 for device 0000:00:0a.0
divert: allocating divert_blk for eth0
eth0: RealTek RTL8139 at 0xde00, 00:c0:26:26:0a:f1, IRQ 10
eth0: Identified 8139 chip type 'RTL-8100B/8139D'
eth0: link up, 100Mbps, full-duplex, lpa 0x45E1
eth0: no IPv6 routers present
parport0: PC-style at 0x378 (0x778) [PCSPP,TRISTATE]
parport0: irq 7 detected
lp0: using parport0 (polling).
lp0: console ready
PCI: Found IRQ 5 for device 0000:00:0c.0

#14 serverxeon

serverxeon

    stranger

  • Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 13 November 2004 - 05:29 AM

[root@localhost root]# lsmod
Module Size Used by
sd_mod 16384 0
usb_storage 55392 0
nls_utf8 1536 1
nls_cp437 5376 1
vfat 10496 1
fat 33472 1 vfat
snd_mixer_oss 13824 2
snd_es1938 15908 4
snd_pcm 68872 1 snd_es1938
snd_page_alloc 7940 1 snd_pcm
snd_opl3_lib 7424 1 snd_es1938
snd_timer 17156 2 snd_pcm,snd_opl3_lib
snd_hwdep 6276 1 snd_opl3_lib
gameport 3328 1 snd_es1938
snd_mpu401_uart 4864 1 snd_es1938
snd_rawmidi 17184 1 snd_mpu401_uart
snd_seq_device 6152 2 snd_opl3_lib,snd_rawmidi
snd 38372 13 snd_mixer_oss,snd_es1938,snd_pcm,snd_opl3_lib,snd_timer,snd_hwdep,snd_mpu401_uart,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq_device
soundcore 6112 3 snd
parport_pc 19392 1
lp 8236 0
parport 29640 2 parport_pc,lp
autofs4 10624 0
sunrpc 101064 1
8139too 17792 0
mii 3584 1 8139too
ipt_REJECT 4736 1
ipt_state 1536 4
ip_conntrack 24968 1 ipt_state
iptable_filter 2048 1
ip_tables 13440 3 ipt_REJECT,ipt_state,iptable_filter
floppy 47440 1
sg 27552 0
scsi_mod 91344 3 sd_mod,usb_storage,sg
microcode 4768 0
dm_mod 33184 0
ohci_hcd 14748 0
ipv6 184288 8
ext3 102376 2
jbd 40216 1 ext3

#15 egorgry

egorgry

    enthusiast

  • Members
  • 315 posts

Posted 13 November 2004 - 04:48 PM

here is your device.
Quote:
USB Mass Storage device found at 2
usbcore: registered new driver usb-storage
USB Mass Storage support registered.
SCSI device sda: 250624 512-byte hdwr sectors (128 MB)
sda: assuming Write Enabled
sda: assuming drive cache: write through
sda: sda1


looks like you have everything you need

You can probably just mount this thing up like a flash drive.

as root type

mount -t vfat /dev/sda1 /home/user/mp3-playa

where I have /home/user/mp3-playa is the mount point you will need to create a directory where you want to mount your device.

once you mount it and are happy with the location youcan add this to line to the /etc/fstab. Here is mine for my flash drive just change the mount point /mnt/FlashDrive to whatever you decide on.

/dev/sda1 /mnt/FlashDrive vfat user,exec,umask=0 0 0


#16 serverxeon

serverxeon

    stranger

  • Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 14 November 2004 - 08:13 AM

Originally posted by egorgry:
Quote:
here is your device.
Quote:
USB Mass Storage device found at 2
usbcore: registered new driver usb-storage
USB Mass Storage support registered.
SCSI device sda: 250624 512-byte hdwr sectors (128 MB)
sda: assuming Write Enabled
sda: assuming drive cache: write through
sda: sda1


looks like you have everything you need

You can probably just mount this thing up like a flash drive.

as root type

mount -t vfat /dev/sda1 /home/user/mp3-playa

where I have /home/user/mp3-playa is the mount point you will need to create a directory where you want to mount your device.

once you mount it and are happy with the location youcan add this to line to the /etc/fstab. Here is mine for my flash drive just change the mount point /mnt/FlashDrive to whatever you decide on.

/dev/sda1 /mnt/FlashDrive vfat user,exec,umask=0 0 0


Err.. sorry, could you explain with a bit more detail.. cause those mounting terms... i dun really understand..

thanks

#17 egorgry

egorgry

    enthusiast

  • Members
  • 315 posts

Posted 14 November 2004 - 04:39 PM

no problem.

a mount point is simply a directory where you want to mount the device.

make a directory (folder) where you want the mp3 player to show up.
let's say you made the folder in /home/serverxeon/mp3-playa

then to mount it you need to be root to use mount from teh comman line just type...
mount -t vfat /dev/sda1 /home/serverxeon/mp3-playa

Then you can switch into that directory and all you files should be available.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

IPB Skin By Virteq