Compatible Support Forums
Sign in to follow this  
Koba

Gentoo Linux?

Hello everyone

Its been a while since I've been on this forum but now I'm back. smile

Thanks to help from people here I have been using Red Hat 9 happily for a few months. Well maybe not so happily...

I'm never going back to Windows now but I really hope I can get a better distro. I've found RedHat great when you want to maintain status quo but installing software can be a nightmare. I'm getting a new laptop soon so I am planning to get a new distro.

I've found that the configure, make, make install cycle time-consuming, tedious and unreliable (especially if there are dependencies involved). All to often I just give up. And rpms aren't that great either. Sometimes I think back to the Windows "setup.exe" files with longing...

I know that with so many distros the make, install cycle is sometimes the only way (there is no way to cater to everyone's needs when there are so many linux choices out there) but surely there is there an easier way? I've become scared of installing software of RedHat because it takes so so long...

I want a freely downloadable distro. Of course, I still want make, gcc and the usual tools. I'm looking into Gentoo as Portage seems to help a lot. Does anyone have any experiance of Gentoo? Does anyone have any suggestions?

Thanks in advance for your help

Koba

Have you thought about Mepis? Your laptop would be a good candadate for the new SimplyMepis2004.01. I also think that you would be a lot happier with the debian apt method of installing and upgrading apps. To my mind a superior way of doing things and certainly a lot less time consuming than Gentoo's. If you downloaded the iso, you could check hardware compatibility before you install.

Gentoo is an awesome distro and well worth the effort to set up, but that's the problem - it requires effort. Lots and lots and lots of effort.