Compatible Support Forums
Sign in to follow this  
Ali

New Intel 915 and 925 Chipsets and Power Supply!!!!

Hey guys

We have just assembled some 915G chipset motherboard (Intel D915GAV) and at the first sight I noticed a different connection for the power supply. Of course I don't have any "new" type power supplies. So I hooked up a normal p4 power supply to it and it worked!!! But on some of the systems the x300 video cards were mysteriously "BLOWN UP". They literally caught on fire! After changing the video card and power supply the entire system works fine again!!!

Here is the deal: when the problem happens the system fans stop working (all of them) and the system power indicator stays on (looks like a voltage problem with 12V), screen goes black (or won’t POST) and then the video card catches on fire!!!

I have no experience setting these systems up (first timer with 915/925 chipsets). Has anybody experienced such problems before? Is there a new type power supply in the market that I could buy (I mean in Ontario, Canada)?

Here are the system specs:

- Intel D915GAV Motherboard (works without any problems with onboard video card)

- Standard ATX P4 power supply 350W

- Intel LGA 3.0 P4 CPU + Cooler master CPU coolers

- PowerColor X300 PCI Express 16X Video card

- SATA HDD

- IDE CDRW or DVD-Rom or DVD-RW Drive

Thanks in advance for any suggestions, tips, and information.

Ali E.

I'm not up to date with the new motherboards, but maybe 350 Watts isn't enough for the 915G motherboard and X300 video card set-up.

Hi Ali!& others