Compatible Support Forums
Sign in to follow this  
huggy_bear85

Building my own pc

Hey everybody. Due to recent horrible technical support through the almighty DELL, transferring me from this department to this department and then back to this department(every dept. in a different counrty except for the USA), i have decided to venture out and build my own pc. this is my first time tackling a task this complex and so i decided to turn to you guys for a lil' advice.

What I would like:

* $1000-$1500 price range

* Great sound and video

* Fast, yet quiet

* Ability to overclock

I would also like to use the A-Top Xblade case however the max size for the motherboard is 12" by 9.5". This is causing me some problems because most of the hard drives that i have been looking at are 12" by 9.6". Ain't thata bi*ch.

Other things i need advice on.

*Processor

*Motherboard

*Memory

*Hard Drive

*Sound card(looking at Sound Blaster Audigy 2ZS)

*Video card(looking at ATI Radeon 9800)

*DVD RW/CD RW

The compatibily of all these things are a little confusing. To be honest the only processors that i have been looking at are the P4's but any suggestions would help. Also i have been looking at the Z-ALIEN Cases as an alternate to the Xblade due to larger motherboard allotment. Both case seem to have pretty good fans on them so i'm not to worried about the cooling.

And don't worry guys(and girls), i think i can handle the REALLY REALLY HARD STUFF, like finding a keyboard and mouse. laugh

Thanks

I may sound like the very company that you are now rejecting, but the decision to buy hardware ought to be a function of what you are going to use the computer for. For example, if you are a gamer and this is actually why you need the fast video card and the big sound, the new line of AMD processors are what you want to look at.