Compatible Support Forums
Sign in to follow this  
red-dragonX

gaming problems with Windows 2000 (Return to Castle Wolfenstein and Neverwinter

hi guys,

i got win2000 os a couple of months back and i've noticed all of my games except for rollercoaster tycoon work on here.

so i started thinking of going back to windows 98 SE, and a good friend is advising me against it. he said that his games played fine on Windows 2000 and that there may just be another problem with my games situation.

now i've just installed Return to Castle Wolfenstein which used to work perfectly fine single and multiplayer. however, now that i've installed it on Win 2000, it gives me this error after the screen blinks twice "GLW_StartOpenGL() - could not load OpenGL subsystem"

please keep in mind that i only have an NVIDIA64 i think? (also, i am not a techie, so please go step by step). any ideas of how to make this thing work?

also, is Win98SE better than Win2000, especially for gaming? this sucks kuz i hate the blue screen of death, but i also hate going through all of this mess just to make a game work.

on a side note, i bought neverwinter nights and though it plays single player, it has HORRIBLE lag..... i.e character moves after 30 seconds.

i'd like to make both of 'em work, so please help out. thanks in advance!

Your RTCW problem sounds like you need a driver update for your video card. If it's an NVIDIA based one then www.nvidia.com is where you need to go. (The driver installation program is completely automatic, but make sure you uninstall any previous nvidia drivers / programs AND *reboot* before you attempt to install the new ones).