Compatible Support Forums
Sign in to follow this  
PICKhead155

Setting up a Linksys Wireless-G card in SuSE 9.1 Personal Edition

Does anyone know how I can get a Linksys Wireless-G card working in SuSE 9.1 Personal Edition? I am a Linux novice so please explain the technical stuff. Thank you!

Most of the cards that work with Linux are in the 802.11b class. "G" is relatively new. I have found the Linksys wireless G router is indeed backward compatible to some "b" cards but not all. I understand the Negear 511 can be made to work under Linux, but it isn't an easy process, especially for a new Linux user. I'm fairly certain the Linksys wireless G card is not yet capable of running under Linux.

Tell me about your router. Is it a Linksys wireless G? If so you may want to consider getting an Orinoco Gold Card. I know from experience it will work with "B" only routers and "G"s that are backward compatible.

Then it is compatible with the Orinoco Classic Gold card which is 802.11b. One of these cards can be had for around $49.00, check it on Froogle. Unless they've changed something, and I don't think they have, this card works with your router.

Your other choices are to try an compile a kernel for the Netgear 511 which is 802.11g, or wait and hope someone will create drivers for your Linksys.

As a matter of information: I use 802.11b on a laptop, and with 2 PCs using the Netgear MA311. All are plenty fast for me..

a quick check of the wlan_adapters list from linux-wlan.com shows the Linksys Wireless-G

product uses a Broadcom chipset. Sorry, but there isn't an open source driver for that yet.

If you have the Linksys 802.11a/g product, then you're in better shape. It uses an

Atheros chipset.

On the other hand, if you're OK with buying software to make your Broadcom-based card

useful, take a look at DriverLoader by Linuxant. http://www.linuxant.com/driverloader/

Have a look at the 3Com 11g product (PrismGT) and the 11a/b/g product (Atheros),