Compatible Support Forums
Sign in to follow this  
moley

Via S3G integrated card not supported by Age Of Mythology

I am a complete newbie and have an AMD ATHLONE

XP 1900+ MMX,3DNOW~1.6GHZ

Direct X9>0b(4.09.0000.0902)

I have age of Mythology and it says my graphics card is not supported although it doesnt appear in the unsupported list,

It installed O.K. but wont run.

Display. Via/S3G KM400/KN400

Manufacturor S3Graphics inc

CHIP S3gKM400/KN400

Mem.32.0 MB

Drivers vtdisp.dll

Version 6.14.0010.0035

Date 07/06/2003

(NOW UPDATED TO 04/19/04) latest driver.

DOI 9 or higher

Drivers cmunda. syst

Version 5.120001.0032

C Media inc.

Mother board ASROCK K7VM4

DXDIAG reports no probs.D>draw and D.Acceleration are enabled.

Reducing hardware acceleration doesnt fix it.

Micro soft havent been able to help so far but I did find some possible answers on another forum. Far too technical for a newbie to understand or know if they applied to my system.

Does anyone have a step by step solution or do I just have to buy a New card ( which I would need installed for me)

Hope I can avoid the expense!!Dont even know If I will like the game!

From the looks of it, that card probably isn't supported just being an S3 chip. If AoM is barfing on the S3, don't think it's the only title to do it. Probably the cheapest you'll find that will work well enough (not great) would be either a Radeon 7000 or GeForce 4 MX440. I've been able to find these online for under $40.

I too recommend ditching the onboard S3 graphics, your performance with even a low end Radeon/GeForce will actully improve a bit because it's not an integrated graphics solution wink

I've used and sold many boards with this particular onboard graphics solution, but only to corporate clients who only need a display and nothing more.