Compatible Support Forums
Sign in to follow this  
Niels82

fedora core 1 - connect to internet

Hi,

I am very new to linux, so I know extremely little.

I just installed linux for the first time, and chose fedora core 1. It all went well, but I dont know how to setup an internet connnection.

I am on a LAN, so I think it should be fairly simple, Id appreciate any help.

Thank you.

im not an expert at this

but first what type of card are you using

you may need to get linux drivers for it

2ndlt if the card auto detects

click the hat (its been awhile since i used fedora so bare with me)

its either system settings or system tools i beleive system settings

click on network

in this option there should be something for new network

i beleive first it shows what card it uses if it does not list yours then youll need to get some drivers

if it does moving on through the procedure go through the steps and it should create a network

im not giving you step by step because its been like 3 weeks since i seen the fedora core interface

im sure that someone else can give better info

card game with my motherboard (NVIDIA nForce MCP Networking Adapter) and i got drivers in the CD there at /drivers/all-in-one/linux/ and ive installed this thing ..

I also went to system tools or whatever and tried to set it up after. I chose ethernet setup and could chose card 0 (dont remember what linux call them, its xx0,xx1,xx1 like that listed for whatever number of cards you got anyway). So i did this, then tried to activate it, and i get message "Couldnt find card, it might not be present" or simular.

I got LAN connection and im using the same hardware writing this with winXP so it is plugged in right etc smile

So why can it not be found now ??

allright i have an nforce board 2 as well with built in lan im not sure if you installed the drivers righti couldnt get my nforce tow work with fedora so i switched to mandrake 10 ce