Compatible Support Forums
Sign in to follow this  
Hot Dang

My woeful DNS skills need improving.

I work in a school and so have limited funds available so our setup is far from ideal. We have one win2k server (single domain) running most things for 350 clients (win2k and XP pro).The council runs our firewall, e-mail and broadband routing externally and they have 2 DNS servers. Unfortunately our server has no local DNS as far as I can gather. If we lose connection to the council DNS servers, login times increase dramatically and in general they time out before logging in. I'm fairly sure that this is a DNS issue and was never a problem when the clients were win98SE. I figure that I need to get a local DNS service set up to solve this problem but don't really know how. Unfortunately I got this job in the middle of my MCSE training and was unable to continue, crucially missing implementing DNS frown

Me and 1600 users would appreciate any help you can give or a handy link to a good DNS guide.

Thanks

You mentioned a firewall which I would think maybe providing DHCP services internally or on the LAN side of things.

Can you verify this with the IT folks that admin this box ?!?

It sound like you could just as easily setup a second nic on this PDC, if there isn't one already and just use ICS but this maybe insufficient due to the number of users you're indicating on the domain wink

Also, you could check the settings on the PDC and note if there are only one or two DNS servers listed. If so then include a third or fourth DNS server which the HOST ISP would provide, unless these DNS addresses that are listed are the HOST ISP's too.

The company I work for provides our own internal DNS server along with our external HOST ISP DNS server addresses. Since we have a couple of different HOST ISP's we have a multi-homed setup.

Not the easiest to configure and maintain but we have backup in case of failure.