Compatible Support Forums
Olga

Warhammer 40k Chaos Gate on XP - help?

I just recently got the Warhammer 40k Chaos Gate game from a friend after waiting for 2 years, and getting a new computer in the meantime, which runs on Windows XP professional.

After installing the game and trying to play it, the screen went black for a few seconds and returned to the original desktop screen. The readme file states it's most likely a problem with the drivers, so I update and downloaded the newest version of DirectX (mistake?)...it's still doing the same thing.

Help? Anybody know how to fix this problem?

Bad news: There isn't a fix.

I have been playing WH40k:CG since it came out for the PC, oh 5 years ago or so. Being a fan of the tabletop game, I found this a great fix for my 40k addiction when no one was around to play the real thing.

While the game had always been buggy, I had found most the time a good reboot would get it running right again. Additionally, the last patch made by Random Games (version 1.2) seemed to right alot of wrongs. In fact, I had it loaded on a couple PCs in my home that were on a network, and played some Multiplay with a couple friends and some family. It was a glorious day for the world of 40k computer games!

All good things come to an end though...

In late 2002 I repartitioned my HDD and reloaded it with WinXP Pro. I immediately started reinstalling all my favorite games. Of course, one of the first to get loaded was Chaos Gate.

I started a new campaign, arranged my Tac squad, equipped them, and jumped into the first mission, the 'artifact recovery at the forest temple' mission.

I moved my squad around to my liking, put them in overwatch, then hit the "End Turn" button. The evil Chaos Cultists started moving in, while getting blistered by a hail of bolter-fire. One of the Cultists made it to within firing range of his Laspistol, then the unthinkable happened.... a screen refresh with no error message and I was staring at my desktop.