Compatible Support Forums
Sign in to follow this  
kjellc

Anyone tried Diskeeper 8.0, & on Windows2003 Server?

As far as I can see it works rather well so far, with the exception of FAT32 partitions, where performance seems very much slower than in version 7. Of course this is not really relevant when it comes to server use, where NTFS is first choice.

The standard and enterprise versions of Diskeeper 8 are supposed to be certified for use with Windows Server 2003, but you should study the table in the readme file to see which version goes with what.

I have had what seems to be a communications problem between the Diskeeper Administrator console on a W2K Pro machine and Windows 2003, but I am not sure what causes it, as I am quite new at Win 2003.

I would be most interested to hear if anyone else has had similar problems.

Hope this was of some help.

I have the Pro version and I like it. I had 7 before. I haven't done any "testing" but it does seem a little faster, and a little easier on the system resources.

I don't particularly care for the new interface though. It seems a bit "busy" for what should be a simple utility. It's as if the layout was designed by somebody in the marketing department... it's big, colorful and has lots of things to click on. It makes for nice screenshots.

Quote:
Thanks guys!
* I guess that'd be my MAIN question, & here is the best way for me to phrase it etc.:

If I was installed & running Windows 2003 Enterprise Edition, would I need to purchase DK8 'enterprise' version... OR could I get buy installing the "PRO/STD" version of Diskeeper 8.x?

APK

Here ya go...
http://www.executive.com/diskeeper/diskeeper.asp#grid

No version of Diskeeper V8 is certified for Windows 2000 OR Windows Server 2003. Go to http://www.veritest.com/certification/ms/cfw/cfw_reports.asp for a list of certified applications.